PDA

View Full Version : Is this an original 2235H cone?

Guido
09-10-2003, 10:09 AM
Hello Experts!

Is this an original 2235H cone?

I think no.

1. No massring
2. look at this cheap aluminum foil with folds
3. See this hump. Now I now why it was clattering

Guido
09-10-2003, 10:10 AM
more

Guido
09-10-2003, 10:13 AM
more2

4313B
09-10-2003, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by Guido
Hello Experts!

Is this an original 2235H cone?

I think no.

1. No massring
2. look at this cheap aluminum foil with folds
3. See this hump. Now I now why it was clattering
This is a link to a photo of a brand new genuine JBL C8R2235

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=414&highlight=mass+ring

Guido
09-10-2003, 10:19 AM
So what is it?

Crap?

Speakertown
09-10-2003, 10:27 AM
I'm not an expert, but I've never seen JBL use alum.
bobbins in woofers, not even in the aftermarket brand
cones.

4313B
09-10-2003, 10:35 AM
So what is it?

Crap?
Well Guido,

You get a transducer reconed and it comes back to you making objectionable noises. :( A query is posted on the forum and everyone gets to speculate on what's wrong with your transducer. You pull the dust cap and find some Reynolds aluminum foil previously used as a turkey tent during Thanksgiving now being pressed into service as your coil former AND it has dings in it. Is that crap?

I'll give you three guesses and the first two don't count ;)

And, where DID that damn mass ring roll off to?

Oh wait, I'm sure the reconer in his infinite wisdom left it out because "it sounds better" without it...

I doubt there ever was a mass ring. Maybe there's 35 grams of aluminum foil wrapped around the coil instead?

In any case - I'm sorry the reconer didn't do right by you... :mad:

boputnam
09-10-2003, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by Giskard
I'll give you three guesses and the first two don't count ;) Beat me too it! Shucks...