PDA

View Full Version : C56 Dorian repair

dbullis
10-07-2005, 11:44 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to vintage JBLs and am very anxious to get started on my new hobby! For starters, a good friend inherited a pair of 1967 vintage C56 Dorians. They sound great! We haven't opened them up yet to inspect the condition of the drivers, but I'd like to. On one of the speakers, it's obvious that the upper end isn't ringing out, i.e. tweeter non-functioning? What could be the possible cause? That said, what drivers are in the C56s and what should I look out for? If we can't get someone to repair them, we may have to do it ourselves. We don't have any technical literature for the speakers, so any advice about them here would be great!

Thanks a bunch!
Daryl

Zilch
10-07-2005, 11:56 AM
Hi, Daryl, and welcome!

C56 Dorian was an enclosure, suitable for installation of a variety of drivers and systems, most popularly, the LE14A woofer and either LE20 (S12 system, LX8 crossover) or LE175DLH (S1 system, LX10 crossover) tweeter.

The LE14A's will likely need new foam surrounds if they still have the original ivory-colored Lansaloy, which will have hardened and cracked over time, seriously compromising the bass output.

Poor high frequency performance is likely because the L-Pads in the crossovers are dirty or oxidized.

You need to determine which drivers are in them. The crossover type will tell much of the tale, but pics of the drivers from the front would be very helpful.

These will sound very nice when brought back to standard performance.

Audiobeer
10-07-2005, 12:00 PM
I'd turn the high frequency l-pad back and forth on the speaker having problems. Make sure the volume is down low. If it kicks in clean it.

dbullis
03-05-2007, 05:51 PM