PDA

View Full Version : 4430 X-Over



"Duke" Spinner
07-13-2005, 07:37 PM
any mod's ..??

i just bought some 4430's

notice no "SCORE"...:(

do ht ecrossvers usually need work, any suggested mod
's ..??

Zilch
07-13-2005, 09:17 PM
No mods needed. Replace bypass caps with Thetas, if you MUST mess with 'em....

Mr. Widget
07-13-2005, 11:41 PM
any mod's ..??

i just bought some 4430's

Congratulations and welcome to the madness!

I am not a mod man... more of a build it myself to begin with type.

I would suggest you check out the drivers as it is likely they have been played hard and are not what they once were.

Zilch, those things are likely 20 years old... don't you think the crossover caps might be aging by now? I wish Giskard was around... he really knew 4430s.:(

Widget

Zilch
07-14-2005, 12:22 AM
I recall some recent posts by Giskard showing him "upgrading" 4430 crossovers by substituting Thetas for bypass, but keeping the rest.

It's not been my experience that crossover caps age that quickly. I might be wanting to replace all the mylars with something better, but at that point your "starting from scratch" approach would be a better strategy, including air-core inductors, since there's nothing left but some cheap sandcast wirewound resistors and a crappy switch then.

In that case, there's decisions to be made as to what configuration to build. Only a fool like me would build the whole enchalada, including biasing.... :p

Guido
07-14-2005, 04:33 AM
Come on guys!

Why NOT biasing :p

My 4435 WILL be biased for sure. Parts are already on the desk. But first I'll finish my 250ti biased networks :)

"Duke" Spinner
07-14-2005, 06:04 AM
well, the caps are 20++ years old ..

and they weren't the best quality to begin with...

i haven't been dissapointed anytime i have rebuilt an old network ...

maybe i'll go 14g. air core here, too

now ...
i just gotta fit them in, betwwen the L-7's , Chorus, Forte's, Cornwall's, Valencia's, 'n Model 19's.......

;)

"Duke" Spinner
07-14-2005, 06:06 AM
Saaay ...

can you build a house

outta Speakers ...???.................:D

stevem
07-14-2005, 06:37 AM
Zilch, those things are likely 20 years old... don't you think the crossover caps might be aging by now? I wish Giskard was around... he really knew 4430s.:(

Widget

Perhaps you could ask Miss Orchid some questions. She appears to be quite knowledgeable.

Miss Orchid
07-14-2005, 07:40 AM
Perhaps you could ask Miss Orchid some questions.

What are the questions?

mikebake
07-14-2005, 08:37 AM
now I just gotta fit them in, betwwen the L-7's , Chorus, Forte's, Cornwall's, Valencia's, 'n Model 19's.......

;)

At least you are moving in the right direction! :)

leif
07-14-2005, 02:34 PM
what about using active crossover?
Hasn`t JBL made an active crossover box for the 4430 and 4435? Does it bring any advantages to the system?

Leif

Zilch
07-14-2005, 02:59 PM
The active crossover option retains most of the passive crossover circuitry in operation. Examine the "Int" vs. "Ext" configurations in the schematic. I find little difference in the performance. If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why.

What I DID do, though, is split the passive into LF and HF in my DIY versions of the crossover, so that I can run them off of separate amps. This I find to be an improvement, if for no other reason than that is how I run everything here.

See the early stages of the "Quick and Dirty" thread for my experiences with the JBL recommended active crossover setup, and this thread regarding DIY passive, including parts list:

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5209

Lancer
07-14-2005, 03:08 PM
what about using active crossover? Does it bring any advantages to the system?The http://www.austinserver.com/phpBB2/images/smiles/icon_censored.gif (javascript:emoticon(':censored:')) DX-1 would have... :banghead:

JBLnsince1959
07-14-2005, 04:04 PM
If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why.



I agree. The passive is much better sounding and I tried different actives and configurations for years with them( didn't try the DX-1).

I'm also at a lost as to why this is.

Robh3606
07-14-2005, 07:27 PM
Active vs. Passive for the 4430

"The active crossover option retains most of the passive crossover circuitry in operation. Examine the "Int" vs. "Ext" configurations in the schematic. I find little difference in the performance. If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why."

Zilch is that with the 4430/4435 cards in a 5235???

I have never tried a straight 4430. Just used the compensation in the 4435 crossover for the horn. Unless you have a really flexible DSP unit you will never get the compensation as good as the passive crossover.

Rob:)

Zilch
07-14-2005, 08:09 PM
Zilch is that with the 4430/4435 cards in a 5235???Yup. I put figurin' it out on the back burner while I moved to other combinations. I'll get back to it ultimately.

Try that little N200t3 out. It'll surprise ya. :p

If you don't have the full passive, just add on the missing components from the parts list for a listen.

[Can't be many....]