PDA

View Full Version : L65 cab resto

lodoc
06-25-2005, 07:47 PM
This JBL disease is taking time away from the car hobby...

I took a pair of L65's out to the shop to troubleshoot a component problem.
The odds-on favorite is a tube in the MC240.

The particleboard on the bottom of the L65's is showing some serious deterioration problems after 30+ yrs in challenging environments - inside, outside, damp, smoke-filled, etc. Though I have some experience with wooden boats, pinball machine cabinets and car bodies speaker cabs are not my strong suit.

Do I use a 2 part epoxy thinned 10-20% with xylene as a 'penetrating epoxy' for the first coat? Then follow up with 2 part body filler or thickened epoxy for the gaps / imperfections? Or just replace with real wood? And the paint?... it looks like low gloss enamel so I'm in my realm with finish coat.

The bottoms have been problematic since birth. The particleboard edge sits about 1 1/2 inches back. So the cabs have been front / top heavy forever. They are prone to falling fwd on irreg surfaces. What have others done to solve this problem. There may be some welding in this yet... a handle and front edge foot would be nice.

johnaec
06-25-2005, 08:06 PM
Personally, if the bases are in pretty bad shape, I'd consider making new ones. And if you're not overly concerned with matching original specs, you could even make them with a little slope built in. I just checked mine, and it looks like making the front of the bases 1" - 1.5" higher than the rear would angle them up just about right. Of course, to do this correctly, it'd mean the bottom edges of the front and rear portions of the bases would also have to have a matcing angle on them. If you don't have the tools to do this correctly, I'd stick with the stock design. You could still make them longer, so the fronts would be closer to help with the balance problem.

As far as material, I'd just pick up some plain 1x4 pine. At least you wouldn't have a crumbling problem.