PDA

View Full Version : 2397 Horn Project

GarMan
06-06-2005, 07:57 AM
Over the weekend, I started on my 2397 clone project. Thanks Mr. Widget for all your postings on specs! I'm sure that anyone who's built one of these will agree that the most difficult part is shaping the vanes, especially the half-vanes on either side. One of these days, I'll get a CNC for the house ... NOT.

I'm not an expert woodworker, just a hobbiest. After an entire afternoon's worth of work, I was able to design and build a jig to carve out the vanes with a laminate router bit.

I'm still trying to figure out how to post photos, but attached is a link to my project album.

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/lowgc/album?.dir=d8cb&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/lowgc/my_photos

Gar.

Steve Gonzales
06-06-2005, 08:31 AM
Simply put: OUTSTANDING!! :applaud:

yggdrasil
06-06-2005, 09:47 AM
Way to go.:applaud:

Ken Pachkowsky
06-06-2005, 02:59 PM
Very nicely done.:applaud:

Titanium Dome
06-06-2005, 04:05 PM
By now you'd think I wouldn't be surprised by the dedication and skill of JBL fans, yet here again I am! Looks great. :applaud:

Datubie
06-07-2005, 12:28 AM
Absolutely fabulous!:applaud:

Mr. Widget
06-07-2005, 01:17 AM
I'm sure that anyone who's built one of these will agree that the most difficult part is shaping the vanes, especially the half-vanes on either side. One of these days, I'll get a CNC for the house ... NOT.

Your horn project is coming along nicely... you know the vanes are actually tricky with a CNC too. I guess the trickiest part for me was gluing them up and having plenty of glue, but not so much as to have it come squirting out back in the narrow part of the horn where it is difficult to get to all the while maintaining the proper angles and parallelism.:banghead:

Widget

GarMan
06-07-2005, 06:22 AM
Widget, I was going to use two small dowels per vane per side to keep them in place during glue-up. Mind if I ask why you didn't go with dowels?