PDA

View Full Version : Forgotten JBL Driver - D123

Zilch
05-14-2005, 11:52 PM
A driver that gets virtually no attention in the forum, what's the D123 good for besides acoustic guitar amps?

There's plenty of them out there, reasonably priced; what do we know about them?

4313B
05-15-2005, 07:14 AM
I never bought any while they were available in the LCS so I have no experience with them ( SURPRISE! :shock: ).

http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/jbl/catalogs/1976-comp.htm

http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/jbl/catalogs/1976-comp/page3.jpg

Also used in various 60's systems.

spkrman57
05-15-2005, 09:00 AM
I have a pair along with 075's and N2400 crossover in a GE cabinet that dates back to the late 50's or early 60's.

The sound is decent with them but the bass is light. The efficiency is around 96/97 db but not at the bottom octaves which are light up to around 80 hz.

The usable bottom end is just below 40hz, but at a level so low that you hear all the notes in a solo, but lost when the entire orchestra kicks in.

The cabinet is a "Distributed port reflex" system, which means the D123 and 075 are in the upper part of the front baffle and the bottom portion has around a dozen 1" holes drilled through.

These cabinets were from back in the day when most folks bought a enclosure and just found a driver to fit the baffle cutout. Basically a general purpose cabinet.

The pair I have are very nice to the eyes as they are detailed in the molding and looks like original grill cloth and the cabinets are made to fit in the corner as the back of the cabinet has the corner shape to it.

I paid premium cash for them as the drivers inside are "MINT" looking and orignal and in perfect working condition.

But the D123's are very effecient, thin in the bass and the chrome dust cap will beam above around 3 - 4 khz. I still like the simplistic design and run them once in awhile. I have several systems, so nothing stays in the center stage for very long.

Ron

GordonW