PDA

View Full Version : JBL at the Cream Reunion

Charley Rummel
05-03-2005, 10:37 AM
Check this out:
http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/10381/133082.html :applaud:

clmrt
05-03-2005, 10:45 AM
When I work a gig, it's quite obvious when the artist doesn't give a crap WHO makes the gear.

Why is my carpet backwards - why is my water cold - this stool is too high -

The only people who spec anything, IME, are the techs - house and mon. Some will not allow "proprietary" designs on the rider, that is, cabinets made in-house using industry-standard drivers.

All this is done well in advance of any date. The hi-profile of the Cream engagements meant good marketing ops for pro-sound providers, and there was likely some lobbying on JBL's behalf that helped get them in.

Not to say Vertec is not world class - it is! But there are many players out there.

I am no expert.............Glad to see JBL anywhere.

4313B
05-03-2005, 10:50 AM
Why is my carpet backwards - why is my water cold - this stool is too high - :rotfl:

57BELAIRE
05-03-2005, 11:03 AM
Back in the late 60's I attended a Cream concert at Thee Image on Miami Beach. On both sides if the stage, instead of the usual 4560's..etc. they had single infinite baffle 130's in columns...no horns...just 15's, about 30 in all.

This was just like the Grateful Dead with their "Wall Of Sound".

Since I hadn't seen anything like this before I assumed it was the Cream's personal gear or at least per their instructions.

I think Eric and the boys were hip to JBL way back then!

scott fitlin
05-03-2005, 11:09 AM
Depends on what artist your dealing with. Some dont know and dont care, as long as they have sound! Others are very particular to what they use, who mixes it, etc!

clmrt
05-03-2005, 11:42 AM
I was on deck for Frank Sinatra JUNIOR :p

He wanted his monitor moved 90 deg, and said "Will someone move this thing...Strong of Back, weak of Mind."

I walked right off, stage right. My stage mgr. about swallowed his cig.