PDA

View Full Version : A question of strength

hector.murray
03-07-2005, 09:46 PM
I'm building a bass box, as in for a bass player, using the JBL Professional Enclosure Guide as my design guide. I'm using the 10th referance, for a pair of 2225 woofs. Now I have 5 sides of the box built and went to fabricate the baffle board. After drawing the cutouts for the 2225s on the baffle board, I looked at where the four 4" port locations would go and had to pause. I felt that cutting the ports in on the front would weaken the baffle board. Is it acceptable to cut them into the rear of the cabinet? I've seen lesser makes do this, just wondered if this was an acceptable practice.

aust-ted
03-08-2005, 02:52 AM
Hector

I am not an expert in this but think you could probably get away with rear ports provided you accepted that you could not place the speakers against a rear wall.

I recently constructed a pair of boxes for dual 2235s and faced the same dilemma you are now facing. I ended up using dual front facing ports but reinforced the front baffle in a number of ways.

Firstly I glued & screwed pieces of hardwood on the back of the baffle in places where it looked weakest.

Secondly I placed a hardwood brace from the back of the back of the baffle to the back of the box which also had hardwood strip bracing applied in an irregular fashion to reduce modes of vibration. I also reinforced all the other inside faces of the box similarly. I then attached top to bottom and side to side braces which were also attached, in the middle of the box, to the front to back brace.

Thirdly I even included a diagonal brace from the front to one side to further increase rigidity and reduce modes of vibration.

I used 1 1/2" veneered particle board for the box because it was free from a local office building refurbishment. All in all I was very happy with the outcome which I think passes the 'knock' test pretty well.