PDA

View Full Version : New to the game.

Old Time Rocker
03-02-2005, 09:45 AM
I'm new to vintage JBL speakers. I've heard plenty in the past but I was usually too high to notice back then what equipment was being used.
Those days are long gone and I've been tryin' to put together a system now for about six months. I've looked at and heard about 100 speakers and all I can say is that today's stuff sucks! A great deal of the more expensive stuff sounds pretty but I usually get bored real quick. There just doesn't seem to be much life to the sound. I was relating this to a friend and he told me I should check out this site and that the old JBL stuff had the kind of sound I was looking for.
Well I need your advice. I found a pair of Lancer 77's on the web that are in very good mechanical order and pretty good cosmetically. I haven't heard them because they are about three hours away. What is your advice? Is this a model that will make my music sound alive? I'm also naturally concerned about the ability to get these serviced should they need it. I would imagine that getting them serviced these days is very hard. Can the drivers be replaced or repaired if need be? Any and all recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks

jblnut
03-02-2005, 09:54 AM
I'm new to vintage JBL speakers. I've heard plenty in the past...snip....

Can you help us out with a little more info ?

What is your budget for speakers ?

What will they be hooked up to ?

What do you listen to, and how loud ?

How big is your listening area ?

Will you be listening to CD's or vinyl ?

There's a lot of experience and plenty of opinions here, but we need to get a little better picture of what you're after.

At the risk of offending an Lancer owners, I would say that there might be better choices out there for similar money...

jblnut

4313B
03-02-2005, 09:57 AM
The Lancer 77 was my introduction to JBL.

As jblnut has pointed out, JBL has come a long way...