PDA

View Full Version : L100 help

tailsandfeather
02-13-2005, 05:36 PM
hello, all, newbie here with a question. I did a general seach and could not find any info so forgive me if I am rehashing anything here.
My father in law gave me a set of L100's, he bought a Bose system:barf: and no longer needed the JBL's. Anyway, they have a loud pop noise that occurs whenever the volume is up a little. I have the same setup, receiver, eq etc....that I had with my previous speakers that had no pop noise. Now I am no expert and hope to learn from this board that I just found today. Any help directing me toward the right person or repair facililty would be appreciated. I know that I have not given much info, so any questions that could be asked that I may be able to answer that would help me would also be appreciated. Hope I have not confused anyone.
Thanks in advance,
Mike

Audiobeer
02-13-2005, 05:41 PM
The question I have to ask first is this, You mention a pop in the L-100s hooked up to one system. Do the L-100s do the same thing when hooked up to an all together different system?

tailsandfeather
02-13-2005, 05:58 PM
unfortunately I do not have another system handy to hook them up to. Would that be the first step? I could always lug them to a friends house and do that

Audiobeer
02-13-2005, 06:07 PM
I would definitely borrow someones reciever first and run another source through the L100s before I would do anything else. If you no longer have the problem then It's safe to say it isn't the L100s. I have found that a violent popping noise will come from the source more often than the the speaker. I had a Marantz reciever that use to do that. If you turned it up it would make a popping noise that was intolerable and almost damage my speakers. Let us know!

GordonW
02-14-2005, 10:22 PM
Couple of things: