PDA

View Full Version : JBL L200/300 restoration help.

retox
11-05-2019, 10:23 AM
I picked up a pair of barn condition L200's this past weekend.
They were converted to the L300 configuration from what I can tell.
I am by no means an expert on either model and could use some guidance on my restoration project.

The cabinets are toast, they got wet and I think that mice may have claimed them as a home for awhile.

I cleaned the pots and connected them you an amp and played some music from my phone and they sound very good.

Here is what I have in the way of drivers and network.

Woofer - LE15B
Mid - LE85
Tweeter - 077
Net work - LX16 and N7000

I am thinking of keeping the same volume as the L200 including the slope and doing L300 cosmetic approach including the rounded top edge and glass top.
My goal is to keep the cost down, but do a really nice restoration. I will use MDF and a Formica face, top, bottom, and rear with a wood veneer for the sides.
I just want any thoughts on this approach.

I will try to post some pictures soon.

Thanks in advance...

-retox

HCSGuy
11-05-2019, 11:34 AM
Do whatever is easiest and looks best to you. There is no resale value in cabinets, and if you need money, you’ll get the most simply by parting the drivers and crossovers out on eBay and taking the cabinets to the dump. Because of this, you may also try watching Craigslist for cabinets. I got a pair of really nicely restored L200 cabinets of CL for $225 - previous owner had already sold the parts out of them, and I had my dad’s LE15/LE85 that went right into them.

Fwiw, I would also consider not using the original crossovers - build your own with better components, or go bi-amp/tri-amp with an active crossover. JBL M553 crossovers are inexpensive, though extra power amplifiers may not be. My dad’s setup sounds completely different, and much better, even through a cheap active crossover.

tjm001
11-05-2019, 12:51 PM