PDA

View Full Version : LE14A Full Range?

bedrock602
05-18-2019, 09:16 AM
I have a pair of S99's with LE14A and LE20-1. The woofers have new surrounds but otherwise all is original. The midrange is very "shouty" and unpleasant. Looking at the specifications and schematic of the crossover, the tweeters are crossed over at 2000 hz but it appears that the woofers run full range.

I'm a complete novice but doing a little reading about crossovers, it seems that upper end of the woofer can be controlled with an inductor. I think this would be a nice little experiment that can easily be reversed. If this is reasonable, can someone recommend a value, or range of values for an inductor to limit the woofer to 2000 hz or so? The tweeters and woofers are 8 ohms.

RMC
05-18-2019, 11:58 AM
Hi Bedrock,

Ideally you would need a LE14A impedance curve, as well as a response curve, in order to determine a proper "crossover point" with the driver, in your case a low-pass "cutoff point". The reason for this is that driver impedance usually varies with frequency, and the 8 ohm value given is only a nominal number, not an exact across the spectrum number. More often than not, impedance value goes up as frequency goes up.

For illustration purpose only, look at the attached 2226H spec sheet impedance graph, pretty typical with stock form woofers, hence the importance of knowing driver impedance value at a certain frequency.

In the absence of actual LE14A data you're more or less having to go with trial/error method with different inductor values... A simple inductor will give you a 6 db/oct roll-off.

Just to help you get going with the experimentation, the crossover calculator in Winspeakerz gives me, for woofer 8 ohms and frequency of 2 khz, inductor value of 0.6366 MH. Double checking this number in crossover tables I have, I get 0.64 MH, so pretty much the same. Good luck, Regards,

Richard

bedrock602
05-18-2019, 05:38 PM
Thanks Richard, that should be easy enough to find.