PDA

View Full Version : What to do with 2231a's

andywin
12-31-2004, 07:38 AM
Whats the best approach to take with these 2231a's I've just aquired.
Both obviously requite new surrounds and one has a hole in the cone.
Can I get away with a repair to the one cone and just fit new surrounds?... or will I have to recone. I have no experience of reconing and here in the UK it's not easy to find anyone to do it... or know how competent they are.
Your advice would be appreciated

johnaec
12-31-2004, 08:47 AM
I'd suggest at least trying a refoam and repair first - it'd likely get you by until you decide they need a full recone. The most you'd be out is the cost of the foam and a little time. I'd probably try repairing the hole by gluing, (plain Elmers white glue), a thin piece of cardboard behind the hole - what's to lose? There's a good thread here by Bo on refoaming - a search will turn it up.

John

Robh3606
12-31-2004, 09:13 AM
I think Johns right. I always try the refoam approach first too. You have nothing to loose. If they are reconned you will have to use 2235 kits which are very reasonable at about $120 US.

Rob:)

andywin
01-01-2005, 04:03 PM
Thanks John & Rob.

You've convinced me to repair an re-surround. Do you have any recommendations on the best and most original looking surround kits and where I can purchase online.
I've checked the JBL pricelist here in the UK and a recone kit C8R2235 is £132.99. Thats over $250! :spchless: The JBL prices in the UK are a ripoff and out of principle I will not purchase at that price.:mad:

Many thanks...Andy

transducergeek
01-01-2005, 05:46 PM