PDA

View Full Version : active network wired in series or parallel



bldozier
01-01-2018, 06:10 PM
I'm footing around the idea of using a 4 way active network w/ a separate sub,
looking around the web the law of impedance came up with y cabling from a mx-110 and its 100,00k impedance.

if your using the external with 4 amps and a l+r mono amp, how would the crossover arrange the amps, in a series or in parallel.
do i need to consider the impedance at all of the amps.

Ian Mackenzie
01-02-2018, 10:19 AM
The hi level signal is loaded in parallel

Check the input impedance of the amps and the output impedance of the active crossover

Pro crossovers can generally drive a 600 ohm
Load if they have XLR connections but with lower output and higher THD than 10.000 ohms.

Post details of your crossover and a diagram of your proposed setup for further comment

bldozier
01-05-2018, 03:42 PM
thanks mac,

thinking of using a vintage active network, its has an input impedance of 50K,output 4K MAX, & an output RL of 50K.

i was going to mix and match tube amps until i find a situation which is copacetic for me.

however i had been under the impression with the active network impedance shouldn't be an issue, from what i had read.