PDA

View Full Version : Vintage JBLs collecting dust in antique store - questions.

PersonalTriumph
08-30-2017, 05:05 AM
Newbie here. Joined to see if I can find out more about these and if they're a worthy acquisition.

As the subject says I saw these collecting dust in a store last weekend: https://imgur.com/gallery/75Rsf

On another forum where I posted, they have been identified as C40 cabinets. One of them has a single D130 driver and the other has the D130, 075 bullet tweeter, and N2600 crossover.

Here are my questions:

Are the cabinets original or home-made copies?

Any concerns with the mismatched components in each cabinet? I'm assuming I would have to find the missing tweeter and crossover on EBay or here to make a matched set, and the components seem to be available. Is there more to it than that?

The grills that come with the speakers are two-piece grills (I didn't get pics of them) but all the pics I've seen online of the C40 has a one piece grill. Any concerns about this? They do each have a JBL badge on them.

Anything else visible in the pictures I should be concerned about?

thanks in advance for your help!

PersonalTriumph
08-30-2017, 08:37 AM
I have been perusing the Lansing Heritage forums today, and just found this thread: http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?39370-Flippers-and-Worse. I realized that my post this morning might not be welcomed by long time members and Lansing devotees.

So, full disclosure: As mentioned in my original post, I am a newbie. And, as feared in the post above, my motives are not pure (although, in the long run, they might turn out to be!)

- I might buy the speakers referenced in my original post, clean them up, do a better job marketing them, and flip them for a quick buck. I am, at my core, a filthy capitalist.

- I might buy the speakers, add the missing driver and crossover, clean them up, and flip them for a bigger quick buck. Same comment as above re: capitalism.