PDA

View Full Version : Skating rink bass build

Tube Radio
05-13-2017, 12:14 PM
I have been djing at a rink for a few months.

They use several QSC K8 powered speakers and four Yorkville LS1208 subs.

I have adjusted the system as good as I possibly can, but the subs just aren't good enough.

Here's what I was thinking.

Four JBL 4520 cabinets with one in each corner for 100-40Hz.

Two larger bass horns one at each end of the rink for 40-20Hz.

I chose the 100Hz frequency as the QSC speakers have a switch for external subwoofer which inserts a high pass at 100Hz and that would simplify things as I wouldn't need an active crossover. Also the QSC speakers have a low frequency response of -6DB at 61Hz.

I plan on using Yamaha PX8 power amps with one for two 4520 cabinets and one for each bass horn due to those amps having built in DSP which will allow me to make the speakers sound their best.

Here's a couple pictures of the rink.

http://i863.photobucket.com/albums/ab196/jmcinvale/Skating%20rink/0513170159.jpg (http://s863.photobucket.com/user/jmcinvale/media/Skating%20rink/0513170159.jpg.html)

http://i863.photobucket.com/albums/ab196/jmcinvale/Skating%20rink/0513170159a.jpg (http://s863.photobucket.com/user/jmcinvale/media/Skating%20rink/0513170159a.jpg.html)

The subs are in only two corners which is part of the problem.

grumpy
05-13-2017, 12:26 PM
Unfortunately, the photobucket linked photo also leads to pop up scam ads.

-_-

Mr. Widget
05-13-2017, 02:06 PM
Why bass horns? They were really practical when a Crown DC300 was a big amp. Today's drivers handle gobs of power and Crown and others offer gobs of power at reasonable prices. I think you'll find, like everyone else has, that the modern crop of high powered bass reflex cabinets will give you superior performance.

Widget

Tube Radio
05-13-2017, 02:58 PM
Grumpy those are ads photobucket uses unfortunately.

Mr. Widget, sheer power isn't always the best way to go.