PDA

View Full Version : Jbl 375 issue

script56
11-08-2016, 01:31 PM
I got a pair of 375 with bad diaphragms and dirty voice coil. I got New diaphragms and cleaned the voice coils. One driver is producing louder output then the other at certain mid range frequencies. I believe the one that is producing lower output is the one that I fully disassembled. I remove the voice coil plate and phase plug from the magnet structure. I did this because I saw companies doing so to fully restore. When I put it back together I've noticed that the phase plug set into the voice coil plate and it looks like I did not set the height correctly. I know this may sound confusing but when I put it all back together it look like the phase plug was not at the correct height above the plate. Does anyone know what the correct height setting is or how to fix?

grumpy
11-08-2016, 02:58 PM
Aside from the phase plug issue (which I have no experience with), perhaps someone who -knows-
can suggest whether a remag would be required (or strongly suggested) after such a disassembly... (?)

script56
11-08-2016, 03:29 PM
You may be right, but magnet is very powerful. It was very hard to remove plate from magnet structure due to magnetizim. Also the drivers both work at high end of frequency range but one is low output at mid frequency. Does anyone know frequency range for 375?

Flodstroem
11-08-2016, 05:16 PM
If you with the word "voice coil plate" mean the top plate then the Alnico has to be remaged because the Alnico has loosen a lot, a LOT of its magnetism.

The whole magnet motor is a very sensitive system: if dis assemble it it looses magnetism and has to be remaged again.

Earl K
11-08-2016, 05:33 PM
Like Flodstroem said, don't break ( dis-assemble ) any magnetic circuit ( unless you are prepared to re-magnetize it ).

:)

script56
11-08-2016, 06:37 PM