PDA

View Full Version : Altec Model Nineteen High Frequency Problem

QntmLpr34
08-23-2016, 12:58 PM
Hi. I'm looking for someone who may be able to point me in the right direction to begin troubleshooting/fixing a problem with one of my Altec Model Nineteen speakers. First off, I am a novice... So, I apologize in advance for not using proper technical terms.
I have a set of Model Nineteens that I bought from a garage sale in 1999/2000ish. They both worked perfectly from the time I bought them, until I disconnected them in July 2012. They sat in storage from July 2012-Aug 2016. When I tested them this week, I found that one of them still works perfectly, but the other has no sound coming from the high frequency horn. I undid the bolts on the horn and checked the wires and connections to the crossover. All of those appear normal visibly, when compared to the known-working speaker. I also touched a multimeter to the ends of the wires that clip into the driver at the back of the horn on both speakers and got the same reading.
Does anyone out there in A/V land have a clue as to what the problem could be... Or maybe a suggestion of any further testing I could do to determine the problem?
Any help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

grumpy
08-23-2016, 01:13 PM
if you've already got the horns out, try swapping them and see if the problem stays with the box/crossover.

DavidF
08-23-2016, 01:23 PM
If not tried already, give the response adjustment knobs several turns to see if there has been some build up of oxidation on the contacts.

QntmLpr34
08-23-2016, 01:28 PM
Thank you! I'll try that after work tonight. I think I had considered doing that, but worried I might damage the known-working speaker. As I said, I'm a novice. (This might be a dumb question but... ) If I connect the suspect horn to the working speaker first, would there be a danger of it damaging the crossover?

grumpy
08-23-2016, 02:07 PM
Keep the volume down, then Nope :)