PDA

View Full Version : Altec Lansing Model 6 Crossover Removal

herkimer
04-24-2016, 08:24 PM
Good Evening All,
I have a set of Altec Lansing Model 6's that need the midrange level controls cleaned. Can someone tell me how to remove the assembly from the speaker cabinet for access to the controls? I am not sure and would rather not break anything. Thanks so much in advance. Randy

gdmoore28
04-25-2016, 10:50 AM
I have zero experience with the Model 6, so I did a search and turned up - nothing. Is there a removable plate on the front of the crossover that might pop off and give access to the mounting screws? Does the back look to be removable? How about access thru the woofer cutout?

GeeDeeEmm

herkimer
04-25-2016, 05:14 PM
Hi and thanks so much for the reply. It's got a very similar setup like the model 14. It looks like the cover may just pop off to gain access to the mounting screws, but not sure. I took the woofer out and found a plastic housing surrounding the x-over assembly preventing access that way. Like you I Googled the problem and came up empty. I had messaged Great Plains Audio a couple of days ago but haven't gotten a reply. I was just afraid of breaking something but the controls are going to have to be cleaned. These were bought new in 1980 from an Altec Lansing dealer in San Francisco and they are special to me. Maybe someone will have the solution. Thanks again so much! Randy

Joseph Smith Jr
04-25-2016, 07:37 PM
Pull the level control knobs and see if the pots' nuts don't also secure the fascia (most likely) with that soft marterial baffle treatment

If not, pull a woofer and see if they don't fasten from the back, same as the horn

herkimer
04-25-2016, 08:53 PM
I wondered if taking those nuts off securing the pots might be holding it. I'll try that tomorrow and let you know. Thank you so much Joseph! Randy

voice of theatr
04-26-2016, 05:14 AM