PDA

View Full Version : JBL Ti-K subwoofer amp replacement



bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 02:48 AM
My friend has two JBL TiK subwoofers, where the amplifiers are starting to fail. Both has undergone a service bulletin some years ago.
The local service firm are dragging, they are waiting for advice from Harman they say.

He asks me what to do. Any suggestions?
The original plate-amplifier is 600W with balanced inputs and stuff, and no longer available from Harman.
The element is JBL SUB1500, and the boxed is closed.

Maybe this one would do the trick?
https://www.hypexshop.com/DetailServlet?detailID=3470

But do you think there are EQ and stuff applied in the original electronics? I guess there are some kind of compensation for the closed box, etc.
He uses them with the LFE-channel from a Marantz HT-receiver, so the incoming signal is low-passed at 80Hz.

Another option would maybe be to buy the amp for the Array 1500 sub? But it has another element, w1500h, and a ported box...

pos
02-29-2016, 03:10 AM
If your friend has a HC receiver with EQ capabilities then it would be easier to simply buy an (external) amplifier.

bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 03:21 AM
He has a brand new Marantz SR7010:
http://www.marantz.co.uk/uk/products/pages/productdetails.aspx?catid=hometheatre&subcatid=avreceiver&productid=sr7010

It has automatic Audessey MultiEQ XT32 room correction. Manual EQ I do not know, have to check that.

bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 03:21 AM
If your friend has a HC receiver with EQ capabilities then it would be easier to simply buy an (external) amplifier.

Any amp suggestions?

It cannot be a CROWN with fans, or something like that. It is a living-room.

pos
02-29-2016, 03:26 AM
600W at 4 ohms?
Many pro amp would give you two channels of that.

bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 04:16 AM
600W at 4 ohms?
Many pro amp would give you two channels of that.

Yes.

I see now, the TiK sub also has speaker level inputs, that is very fortunate :)

bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 04:27 AM
Any suggestions for a pro-amp that gives 2 channels of 600W in 4ohm, without noisy fans?
I know CROWN has a fanless amp, but it is only 125W.

bubbleboy76
02-29-2016, 04:35 AM
Anyone having experience with this one?

http://www.thomann.de/se/crown_xls_2000.htm

HCSGuy
03-03-2016, 04:56 PM
I would consider watching EBay for a Velodyen SMS-1 subwoofer measuring/EQ system - that will solve the EQ/Crossover exceptionally well, and then find a good power amplifier/amplifiers that will sum to mono for the woofer. I always used Parasound, which are nice as many are available used and buying one that is older is not a detriment.