PDA

View Full Version : Model 19 crossover rebuild...what gauge wire?

mpent
02-24-2016, 11:03 AM
I am rebuilding my crossovers and am wondering what gauge wire to use for crossover to driver connections? Also, what gauge wire for the ground mod? Thank you.

Michael

gdmoore28
02-24-2016, 12:30 PM
I searched high and low for an answer to the question of wire guage/strands/solid for use in crossovers, but I've been unable to find any solid recommendations. I'm a newbie at crossover building, so I'm quite interested in the responses you get. The thing that has always puzzled me is the use of large (numerically small) connecting wire gauges compared to the size of conductors used in the typical resistor or capacitor. In your case, though, you would surely be safe in using whatever wire configuration was used by the Altec factory.

GeeDeeEmm

mpent
02-24-2016, 01:45 PM
Thanks...yeah, unfortunately the only skill I have is the ability to solder. When it comes to reading schematics, determining values, wire gauges etc...I have no idea. If someone can recommend a wire gauge or advise me what gauge is used in the original crossover I would appreciate it. Thanks again.

Michael

grumpy
02-24-2016, 02:25 PM
Would recommend using wire that comfortably fits in the driver's connector hole.
If using spade lugs, no smaller than 20ga (up to 16ga on woofer) and use a -good- crimping tool,
and lugs that are specified for your wire gage of choice. If you have the stock wires, use them as
a guide for what's reasonable.

gdmoore28
02-25-2016, 07:46 AM