PDA

View Full Version : What is the polarity supposed to be on an 077 tweeter?

Alobar
12-03-2015, 07:04 PM
Sorry to have to ask this but they say the only stupid question is one that's not asked and being a total noob I am a little unsure of myself. I just got the items together (L-pad and 1uF cap) to hook up my 077's to my L200's. I keep seeing on several schematics showing the pos hooking up to the neg on the tweeter. Is this the case? I know that JBL has done this at times..

http://i1112.photobucket.com/albums/k500/eaglesnest_1412/Capture_zpsbqyq1kr0.jpg (http://s1112.photobucket.com/user/eaglesnest_1412/media/Capture_zpsbqyq1kr0.jpg.html)

JeffW
12-03-2015, 09:05 PM
Probably depends on the crossover. It's not uncommon for 12dB slope crossovers, for example, to have adjacent drivers with flipped polarity to keep them in phase at crossover. The diaphragm on the 077 will have a dot next to the negative lead, that'll go to the black binding post. If you're unsure of the crossover design, you'd probably want to measure the mid/tweeter response to see if there's a big hole at crossover. If so, something's probably backwards.

The polarity of JBL crossovers/drivers can get extremely frustrating to decipher - there have been huge threads on it here. Measure it if in doubt, I bet there are a lot of JBL systems out there where guys have pulled drivers without noting what wire goes where and then get them hooked up wrong after a refoam or something.

1audiohack
12-03-2015, 09:22 PM
Hi Alobar;

I am not quite sure what you are asking. The absolute polarity of the 077 if it is properly assembled with a JBL diaphragm is forward motion with positive applied to black.

Which way it integrates best with a passive network is always up for debate.

Barry.

Alobar
12-03-2015, 09:43 PM