PDA

View Full Version : Need help identifying this JBL driver

JasonKingsland
03-08-2015, 02:25 PM
Hey guys,
I've been trying to figure out what model of JBL speaker the below is. Disregard any of the weird concentric stuff. That's some aftermarket stuff. However, the basic driver is still a JBL, it looks like a LE10h-1 but the binding posts are wrong. Can anyone help? I'm trying to find a recone kit.

Thanks a million!
Jason

rdgrimes
03-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Doesn't really look like an LE10H-1 cone or surround.

JasonKingsland
03-08-2015, 03:13 PM
Hey there! Thanks for the reply. I'm not an expert in JBL stuff, just basing it off of other pictures I can find. I.E : www.speakerrepair.com/repairpicshtml/jbl-le10.html

Thanks!
Jason

grumpy
03-08-2015, 03:32 PM
It does look like a JBL 10" frame with newer style terminals.
what, if anything, is between the cone inner diameter and the
housing that's presumably for a tweeter?

JasonKingsland
03-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Hey Grumpy,Thanks for the reply. Here's a picture of the woofer with the tweeter housing removed. As you had mentioned, there's nothing in it. There are some part numbers on the speakers but nothing I've been able to cross reference on the internet. Sadly harman has been little help. Thanks!Jason

martin2395
03-09-2015, 12:37 AM
The basket could be a 2123 one.

Maybe some company or just an experienced DIY'er tried to create an L10C :)

hjames
03-09-2015, 05:51 AM
Looks like a heavily customized 10 inch woofer.
With that black gunk glued to the cone I'd say a recone is in order to get rid of that stiff.
So the questions would be - what do you want it to be after the rebuild?

Hey guys,
I've been trying to figure out what model of JBL speaker the below is. Disregard any of the weird concentric stuff. That's some aftermarket stuff. However, the basic driver is still a JBL, it looks like a LE10h-1 but the binding posts are wrong. Can anyone help? I'm trying to find a recone kit.

Thanks a million!
Jason