PDA

View Full Version : Help w/Control 29 AV-1's



gmarascortt
01-19-2015, 03:18 PM
Hello All.....
Have not been on in awhile. but still enjoying my 250Ti's and 18Ti's!
I needed a set of outdoor speakers, so I just purchased a mint set of Control 29 AV-1's for $100. Anybody have experience with these?? They were from a health club that went out of business a few years ago and the previous owner said they were only hooked up for a month or so. They are almost brand new. No paperwork though.
They are complete w/the Invsiball mounting brackets but missing the allen wrench to adjust them. Anybody know what size allen wrench?? I know it has to be fairly long.
Connected one speaker to get a listen. Sounded horrible.....like tin can. Is there a special set-up for these?? Please help! Thanks, Geno

Mr. Widget
01-19-2015, 09:21 PM
They sound pretty good when mounted under the eve of a house where you get boundary reinforcement. If you use a decent amplifier they'll produce pretty good results.


Unfortunately I couldn't tell you the size of the Allen screw, but a T-handle wrench should do it length wise.


Widget

gmarascortt
01-20-2015, 03:48 PM
I think there might be 3 internal settings.....70V, 100V, or Bypass. I just don't know enough about them to do this. These speakers, I believe,can be set up in a line(many speakers hooked up in succession) I think these were set up this way. I would just like to set them up in stereo. Any help would be great! Thanks

grumpy
01-20-2015, 06:43 PM
Change switch to "Thru" position... Bypasses the transformer.
if the -1 version doesn't have this switch on the rear panel,
might have to open it up to see if there's a jumper or equiv
inside... Couldn't find a -1 guide or pic as there are for the
earlier version.

gmarascortt
01-21-2015, 04:07 PM
Change switch to "Thru" position... Bypasses the transformer.
if the -1 version doesn't have this switch on the rear panel,
might have to open it up to see if there's a jumper or equiv
inside... Couldn't find a -1 guide or pic as there are for the
earlier version.
Thanks Grumpy! OK...there is an outside "switch"....more like a hole or small port. Both settings appear to be in the "thru" position. Connected both speakers. One is fine and it sounds great! The other has no sound coming from the bass driver and very little from the horn...sounds like a tin can!
Started taking it apart. Both driver and horn were connected properly and no apparent damage inside, everything looks brand new.
Any suggestions on possible explanations??

macaroonie
01-21-2015, 04:14 PM
Test the drive units directly or swap them over one by one into the good speaker. See what happens

gmarascortt
01-21-2015, 04:26 PM
Test the drive units directly or swap them over one by one into the good speaker. See what happens
Thanks.....I will try it tomorrow

gmarascortt
01-25-2015, 06:07 PM
Found the culprit! It was one of the tinsel wires that came off one of the cones. Soldered it......works perfect now. Thanks for all the advice, Geno