PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...JBL Perf. Series Complete Help



Rod Bradley
11-24-2014, 08:32 AM
I bought the complete set up in 2007 from a hi-end stereo shop that shuttered. It was used in their demo room.

(2) PS1400, (4) PT800 & (1) PC600.

I am not an audiophile but would like to get the system up and running. For various "life" reasons I have really never set it up properly and used it.

For now all I want is 2 channel music playing stuff...even just using one sub and two PT800 to start.

Could some one guide through me through the process or show me where to start.

I have the full manuals.

Also, years ago I bought a Denon AVR-4306....in 2007 so it to is "old" but it looks to be massively capable.

THX

speakerdave
11-24-2014, 08:42 AM
Hello, Mr. Bradley--Welcome to the forum!

The only thing I personally would suggest is that you plan on using both of the 1400's because they provide a stand for the 800 and they really should be seen as a bass module and not just a subwoofer.

Beyond that, you can find the manual on line: http://www.jbl.com/images/media/PT800_OM_EN.pdf

Oh! So I see you have them. Well, why not read them?

Rod Bradley
11-24-2014, 09:19 AM
Hello, Mr. Bradley--Welcome to the forum!

The only thing I personally would suggest is that you plan on using both of the 1400's because they provide a stand for the 800 and they really should be seen as a bass module and not just a subwoofer.

Beyond that, you can find the manual on line: http://www.jbl.com/images/media/PT800_OM_EN.pdf

Oh! So I see you have them. Well, why not read them?

Well because I am a dangerous amateur and I'm lazy.....seriously I have been reading it. It is printed in my hand and I'm on page 8 ....good info but probably the amp/receiver are probably the more complicated part.

1. Your saying use both subs?

2. Does that mean also use the PT800's with them?

3. How does one use them both? On the back of my old Cambridge Audio 640 integrated amp is 1 set of RCA "pre out"s. Two ports total.

4. Is it possible to test the 1400's to see if they are functional?

5. If I'm using the Cambridge amp RCA's which ports should I connect the RCAs to or do they need to be cut... "system input" or LFE/subwoofer input?

6. Could I just run speaker wire from the B L/R speaker out?

7. My Denon AVR-4306 amp shows only one RCA out to the sub...how do I wire up 2 subs?

Thanks....I'm asking for some help here.

Rod Bradley
11-24-2014, 10:03 AM
I'm learning....single PS1400 working now working with Cambridge Integrated amp. RCA Pre-out to LFE Sub in.

Still How do I use the 2 subs together? Should I use a splitter?

Or should I us the other pre-out...there is a L/R...two RCA outs?

rdgrimes
11-24-2014, 10:55 AM
You're missing the point.
the PS1400 and PT800 are designed to be used together in a "stack". Lets hope that you received the needed hardware to mount the PT800 on to the PS1400. Its usually in a box in the packing material for the PS1400.
Once done, you now have 2 4-way towers. Here we refer to them as stacks. The PS1400 has a switch on it to properly configure it for a stacked setup. The square grey plate on top of the PS1400 has the connection posts for the PT800 underneath. Again, the manual does provide details and pictures.

Once stacked, the thing is connected as any single speaker to your amp, with the PT800 being driven from the connectors on the PS1400.

Ah, and here's everything you ever wanted to know:
http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?3272-JBL-Performance-Series

63674

Rod Bradley
11-24-2014, 11:16 AM
You're missing the point.
the PS1400 and PT800 are designed to be used together in a "stack". Lets hope that you received the needed hardware to mount the PT800 on to the PS1400. Its usually in a box in the packing material for the PS1400.
Once done, you now have 2 4-way towers. Here we refer to them as stacks. The PS1400 has a switch on it to properly configure it for a stacked setup. The square grey plate on top of the PS1400 has the connection posts for the PT800 underneath. Again, the manual does provide details and pictures.

Once stacked, the thing is connected as any single speaker to your amp, with the PT800 being driven from the connectors on the PS1400.

THANKS...I'm a slow learner...over the years I've had these in my mind it was a complete un-seperable set for surround requiring a special receiver / amp which I do have...just have never really set up. Just recently the thought occurred to me to check their functionality (they are used) and use them 2 channel as separate pieces.

I do have all the necessary parts for the stacks and will hook them up as you described.

BTW it did work for as a separate powered sub using the RCA LFE/Sub in....so it appears to have integrity...fully functional.

rdgrimes
11-24-2014, 03:12 PM
THANKS...I'm a slow learner...
Its a big club. ;)

BTW it did work for as a separate powered sub using the RCA LFE/Sub in....so it appears to have integrity...fully functional.

The main issue with early model PS1400 is the amp crapping out, but it only happens after many hours of use so enjoy.

When stacked, the PS1400/PT800 combo makes some serious magic. I envy you the experience of discovering your music all over again. They can handle LOTS of power, and tend to sound better when pushed with >200WPC. Keep in mind that the PS1400 is providing power for the <130Hz audio when they are stacked. The PS1400 is pretty heavy in the 60-120Hz area, so careful placement to avoid boominess may be called for. (absent a good EQ system) Avoid corners if possible and keep them as far from walls as you can. These do not need ANY help in the bass ranges, although a high-end sub will help a lot under 30Hz.

I know its hundreds of pages, but the dedicated Performance Series thread is a very good read.

Rod Bradley
11-24-2014, 03:22 PM
Ser. # of 1400-
http://i843.photobucket.com/albums/zz359/scratchedup/L1190159_zpsecee150b.jpg (http://s843.photobucket.com/user/scratchedup/media/L1190159_zpsecee150b.jpg.html)

Quick and dirty set up ipod/MaverickD2 DAC, Wadia dig. to analog converter, old Cambridge Audio 640 2.0 integrated amp.... not bad-
http://i843.photobucket.com/albums/zz359/scratchedup/L1190173_zps5c205bd4.jpg (http://s843.photobucket.com/user/scratchedup/media/L1190173_zps5c205bd4.jpg.html)

Rod Bradley
11-25-2014, 06:23 AM
Keep in mind that the PS1400 is providing power for the <130Hz audio when they are stacked.

Can you elaborate on this please?

rdgrimes
11-25-2014, 07:58 AM
When stacked, (with the amp switch set in the stacked position), the PT800 is fed through a 130Hz filter. Essentially this gives you a bi-amped system. When that switch is set in the "separate" position, the PT800 is fed with a 80Hz filter. Still "bi-amped" but a different response curve. I really suggest reading the dedicated thread here, and the manual. In the stacked configuration, the PT800 presents significantly less load to the system amp, and the PS1400 is doing the heavy lifting.

Rod Bradley
11-25-2014, 08:13 AM
When stacked, (with the amp switch set in the stacked position), the PT800 is fed through a 130Hz filter. Essentially this gives you a bi-amped system. When that switch is set in the "separate" position, the PT800 is fed with a 80Hz filter. Still "bi-amped" but a different response curve. I really suggest reading the dedicated thread here, and the manual. In the stacked configuration, the PT800 presents significantly less load to the system amp, and the PS1400 is doing the heavy lifting.

Amp switch set to stacked I assume you mean the LF Crossover switch...

http://i843.photobucket.com/albums/zz359/scratchedup/11-25-1411-53AM_zps99d7ac73.jpg (http://s843.photobucket.com/user/scratchedup/media/11-25-1411-53AM_zps99d7ac73.jpg.html)

Two questions-
1. What type of amp set up would you recommend for more power? My Cambridge specs say 75 watts into 8 ohms...pretty weak?

2. One PS1400 has a not loud but constant hum. This can't be good. Is this repairable?

rdgrimes
11-25-2014, 10:37 AM
Amp switch set to stacked I assume you mean the LF Crossover switch...

Yes, that one.


Two questions-
1. What type of amp set up would you recommend for more power? My Cambridge specs say 75 watts into 8 ohms...pretty weak?

I wouldn't rush into anything. Get them set up and get used to them. My recommendation is 200WPC, but less is OK too if you don't listen loud.


2. One PS1400 has a not loud but constant hum. This can't be good. Is this repairable?

Triple check all connections, it could just be a poor ground or ground loop.

Rod Bradley
11-25-2014, 12:34 PM
My recommendation is 200WPC, but less is OK too if you don't listen loud.





I've always liked loud.......my wife does not......x 30 years. Compromise......its all good:bouncy::bouncy::bouncy: