PDA

View Full Version : Re-purpose Model 19 components

pizzazz
08-13-2014, 04:02 AM
I have a pair of Altec Model 19 speakers. Mint condition, purchsed in 1978. I am a serious woodworker and want
to make a pair of cabinets that are not as wide and deep, but will still allow the horn and woofer to be mounted on
the front of the cabinet. I want to use solid hardwood so I can dovetail the carcass for visual appeal and strength (no
half-lap joints with nails here!) I understand the notion of MDF and plywood being used for cabinets, but since I am
only making one pair out of the same material, I thought the sonic properties would be closely matched.

All of this being said, does anyone have plans for a simple "tower" design that would be a good match for the
components that I have?

Thanks for reading

Mike

audiomagnate
08-16-2014, 07:51 AM
How 'bout something completely different?

pizzazz
08-17-2014, 08:18 AM
Hi

Thanks for replying. I find it hard to understand that so many people viewed my post, but no response.
I thought all of us Altec-Heads would jump at a topic like this.

For me, I just want a simple tower, and one that my wife will approve of. She does not understand
audio, and that your enclosure cannot be 4x5 inches in size if you want to have any bottom to the
audio spectrum. :)

There is nothing wrong with the 19's; I am just thinking when the time comes for me to down size.

Mike

Lee in Montreal
08-17-2014, 09:48 AM
Let me be the second one to reply, especially that you expressed the goal to downsize. As soon as you will reduce the size of the bass cabinet, you will not have an Altec 19 sound anymore. Better sell them and buy something that was originally designed to be smaller. Nontheless, if the goal is to have a cabinet that has less frontal "impact", then simply measure the volume of your cabinet and design another that has the same volume. Just slimmer and taller. Keep the same volume and the same ducting specs for bass reflex.

pizzazz