PDA

View Full Version : Power amp for jbl 4343

Goldjazz
05-04-2014, 05:08 PM
Hi im looking at power amps for a pair of 4343s

They are Yamaha Bx-1 Monoblocks. Putting out 100w pure class A each. Will this be sufficient power? Ive read elsewhere that min 300w is desirable for 4343s

http://audio-heritage.jp/YAMAHA/amp/bx-1.html

Alternatively I can wait a while (quite a while) and eventually go for these...

Exclusive M5 monoblocks. 300w each.

http://audio-database.com/PIONEER-EXCLUSIVE/amp/m5-e.html

Thanks.

BMWCCA
05-04-2014, 06:51 PM
All I know is what I know. :dont-know:

I've been bi-amping a pair of 4345s for several years now using one Crown PS-400 and one PS-200 and an Ashly XR1001 crossover. I can't imagine needing any more power and I can play them far beyond any reasonable volume level without even flickering the amps' IOC lights with perfectly clear sound. The PS-400 is rated at 190 WPC @ 8-ohms or 660 in bridged mono. I have enough amps to run one bridged on each side but I don't see why I'd want to. Maybe some day I'll give it a try. I also have a Crown Studio Reference-II, rated 355-WPC I've yet to try.

JBL says the maximum power input for the 4343 is 75-watts top and bottom if bi-amped (75 watts for single) and recommended amplifier power is 150-watts per channel. For my 4345s JBL recommends max 200-watts on the bottom using a 400-watt amp and 100 on the top with a 200-watt amp. I guess I'm not giving them as much as I could, but I'm happy with what I'm hearing. I guess what I'm saying is you'll likely be pleased using what you've got, but a bit more wouldn't hurt! :D

hjames
05-04-2014, 07:08 PM
I had a pair of 4341s - same drivers, slightly different box size.
I ran mine with an Adcom GFA-555 (200w/ch) later I set them up in Bi-amp mode and used a PAIR of GFA-555s ...

Hi im looking at power amps for a pair of 4343s