PDA

View Full Version : JBL L100t3 Veneer question

Tucker99
01-01-2014, 03:48 PM
Playing a bit with a pair of L100t3 that I was gifted by a friend.

They are in mint condition, one owner (before me) that I know on a business associate level, so they have never been abused or in a smoker's home. They were in his living room for years and when the foams rotted he moved the speakers to a spare bedroom closet and there they sat until he gave them to me. I offered to re-foam and return but his wife declined!

The finish is immaculate but I have been wondering about the wood veneer type. It looks like a rosewood-stained (so mostly quite dark'ish but with a slight reddish hint to it) quartercut zebrawood. Now, I am no wood expert but the grain on the wood is the very narrow and vertical pattern that seems common to zebrawood. I have inserted some photos below. Whilst the photos with the flash accentuate every imperfection and give the impression that the wood looks poorly, such is not the case...but the photo certainly makes the wood look scuffed and dry so probably a rub-down with a restorative product would really make the wood pop. I am still thinking a real wood but perhaps an engineered or manufactured product??

Does anyone happen to know what the wood finish options were for the L100t3? This forum shows only Oak or Walnut. the fellow who gave them to me could/would have spent a pretty penny no doubt so if there were any exotic veneer options that would have been his choice. But perhaps other (cheaper) quartercut woods were used...??? I have had it suggested that maybe some other L-series speakers came in Black Ash, but somehow this does not look like ash to me.

Robh3606
01-01-2014, 05:46 PM
The speakers I have from that series are the Walnut and a pair of Oaks. Don't look anything like your pair. That sure does look like Zebra wood. My Array center has a Zebra wood finish and it's very similar.

Rob:)

Tucker99
01-01-2014, 06:28 PM