PDA

View Full Version : D130 age and surround goop

Toxophilite
12-15-2013, 04:49 PM
Hi all
I'm new here
I'm a guitarist and I quite like the sound of JBLs in the little amps I make
I have 3 D123s and a D130 right now...I did have a few D120s but as they were quite heavy and didn't blow me away soncially at the time ..I sold them... and of course now regret it.
I really like the D123s though, sweet clean sound!

Anywho the D130 I have is one made for Hifi use, labelled 16 ohms but actually 8
Original paper cone and paper surround (or factory recone) with a 130-202 code on it, aluminum dust cover and no surround goop!
Serial # 25507
I'm using it with a 15 watt tweed deluxe/vibrolux (in transition from on to the other hahaha) that I made

The D130 is in excellent shape both cosmetically and otherwise, has the badge on the magnet and nary a mark on it. I paid $75 for it
I would however like to find the JBL goop or the closest alternative to put on the surround to keep it from the inevitable cracking.
What are people using?
Is the original 'goop' still available?

I'd read many places that on speakers in general a lot of people use rubber cement (elmers or similar)
for paper surrounds

Any ideas, comments?

Mr. Widget
12-15-2013, 06:30 PM
You will find some info here: http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?26654-I-found-the-JBL-quot-Goop-quot-guy-!!!

It doesn't fully answer your question but Harvey who was at ground zero at JBL during the time these drivers were developed had posted some interesting and related posts there.

Widget

Toxophilite
12-16-2013, 03:16 AM
Hmm
I checked out that thread,thanks. A lot of neat information but as you suggested, no definitive answer.
Anybody have an idea for a decent alternative?,
As long as it's close in function and looks the part too
Wouldn't mind this speaker's surround to have some longevity as well as preserving it's resale value
Anybody have experience with rubber cement?