PDA

View Full Version : Dayton plate amp trouble



robertbartsch
10-18-2013, 01:12 PM
This 1,000W plate amp has been running my 15" sub for a few years now and I like it. Lately, it has been cutting out periodically. I checked all the wires and connections which are OK.

Now it does not want to run at all.

I think it is a Class A/B, amp....

Are these amps junk, or is it worth fixing?

Mr. Widget
10-18-2013, 02:19 PM
Why not contact PE and ask if they recommend repair or replacement. They should know how well they hold up and whether or not they are worth fixing.


Widget

Robh3606
10-18-2013, 02:48 PM
FWIW I have used a pair of their plate amps for about 10 years now. Still going strong.

Rob:)

robertbartsch
12-02-2013, 11:36 AM
I took it in to a local TV repair shop. He said it sounds like it might be a bad cap....

the unit used to cut in and out for about 6 months.,.... now it will not kick in at all.....

UHG!

robertbartsch
12-06-2013, 09:20 AM
...local repair shop said it is a bad transformer - part is $200!