PDA

View Full Version : 2245H in folded corner horn enclosure?

Stevedel
08-15-2013, 11:00 AM
Greetings folks. I have long been a fan of folded corner horn ( Hartsfield, Klipschorn ) designs. Tooling around the Internet, I found information on the Electro-voice Patrician IV. It is described as a Klipschorn scaled up 16-2/3%. Anyone have any thoughts on using an 18" 2245H in one of these designs? I have the components to build a 4345, but a scaled up Klipschorn might be worth the effort. Any thoughts? I am just waiting on acquiring a router big enough to handle a Freud lock-miter router bit. Thanks, Stevedel.

more10
08-16-2013, 05:50 AM
2240 have better paramters than 2245 for horn loading. I have no experience on the Patrician, but I found the DIY manual (https://www.google.se/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CC8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Felectrovoice.com%2Fdownloadfile.p hp%3Ff%3DPatrician%2520IV%2520DIY%2520Manual.pdf&ei=_RwOUoq-MsXl4QSW0oGIDw&usg=AFQjCNG-gMXMtUWyjU2QKeHvs0pQt_ku9A&bvm=bv.50768961,d.bGE). I says the horn should be used with EV 18WK, however there are no TS parameters for this driver.

Lee in Montreal
08-16-2013, 07:34 AM
I agree that for a folded horn, the 2240 will work better as its sweet spot will better match a horn than the 2245's

Also, be carefull with "scaled down horns" as that there's no such a think as "scaled down wavelength". All you will achieve is raising you Fs and most likley screwing everything up. When it comes to horn, there's no way around size. Bigger works better.

Lee

Stevedel
08-16-2013, 08:56 AM