PDA

View Full Version : Alesis M-EQ 230

Val
05-18-2013, 10:40 AM
I just picked up an Alesis M-EQ 230 at a neighborhood garage sale for a cool $20. Power's up fine but I've not run signal through it yet. Two channels, 31 bands, unbalanced signal path. Per manual: HARMONIC DISTORTION .004% @ 1KHz @ 0dBV. Sounds too good to be true. I'm hoping to hook it up today.

Any opinions on this one?

1audiohack
05-19-2013, 12:05 AM
I have two, one in my bedroom system and one on the shelf. There's definitely better, and definitely worse units. Working properly they are dead quiet and certainly worth more than what you paid for that one. The power supply costs that much.

Have fun!:)

Val
05-19-2013, 12:38 PM

I plan to! Your comments are helpful. I started playing around with it yesterday and it seems to work well.

Fort Knox
05-29-2013, 03:25 AM
I have two, one in my bedroom system and one on the shelf. There's definitely better, and definitely worse units. Working properly they are dead quiet and certainly worth more than what you paid for that one. The power supply costs that much.

I stacked two together ..the second for the 10th oct on some A7's
quiet ..they are...and phase in perfect.....

DavidF
05-29-2013, 04:36 PM
Yep, I too use one. No issues of note. Used to modify the bass response, though, so I don't use any bands above 150 Hz.

Fort Knox
05-31-2013, 11:40 AM
Yep, I too use one. No issues of note. Used to modify the bass response, though, so I don't use any bands above 150 Hz.

I did the same thing
If your using bass to Midas-ize harsh freqs...
try using the whole 30 1/3 oct trimmers method
you'll need a Radio Shack db meter
And a test cd (2011 delwoman's treasures www.ebay.com (http://www.ebay.com))
(it's got all the EQ freqs):)

voice of theatr
06-06-2013, 03:42 PM