PDA

View Full Version : L100 woofer screws stripped?

Puddintane
03-17-2013, 10:40 PM
I'm hoping someone can help out a JBL noob here. I have a pair of L100s, and the mounting screws on one woofer seem to be stripped--or else they're seized up in the anchors, and it's the anchors that are turning in the cab. I think it's probably the latter. Any suggestions on how to get at these so I can pull the woofer? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

rdgrimes
03-18-2013, 05:18 AM
Usually its the t-nut spinning loose. If you can get the other screws out, try gently prying up the speaker flange while turning the screw.

Puddintane
03-18-2013, 12:55 PM
Usually its the t-nut spinning loose. If you can get the other screws out, try gently prying up the speaker flange while turning the screw.

Unfortunately, none of them will come out. They're all doing the same thing. It's as if they were put in with Loctite or something.

rdgrimes
03-18-2013, 01:02 PM
That's some pretty old MDF, and the t-nuts routinely come loose. that doesn't rule out some nitwit putting loctite on the threads some years ago, or they are just rusted.

Worst case you remove the mid or tweeter and go in that way to grab them. You may have to knock loose the isolation can behind either one of those. Patience is a virtue in this situation. Plan on needing new t-nuts when its all done.

subwoof
03-18-2013, 02:35 PM
if you drill the center of each bolt with a series of increasing size bits ( 1/8 to 3/16 ) the head will simply break off from the shaft. The depth is just a little deeper than the bottom of the "+"

You can jam a very small finishing nail in between the head and speaker frame if needed.

use a shop vac to suck away the metal shavings while drilling.

Most often the bolt ( and/or ) t-nut is corroded.

been there many times...it's always the consumer models that have this issue...wonder why..??

Puddintane
03-18-2013, 05:37 PM