PDA

View Full Version : JBL4345 AMP Suggestions?

1951 ford
10-18-2012, 10:25 PM
Hi Guys, im somewhat new to site, My names andrew from Langley, BC Canada. Im Gathering Parts for a pair of jbl 4345 Studio monitors. Im looking for a plan for amps etc for these. What Are guys running for these? Id like to do an active crossover with 2 tube amps for the highs and SS amps for the 2245s. What size Mcintosh Tube amps do i need for the highs? I appreciate it! -andrew

Mr. Widget
10-20-2012, 02:51 PM
Hi Guys, im somewhat new to site, My names andrew from Langley, BC Canada. Im Gathering Parts for a pair of jbl 4345 Studio monitors. Im looking for a plan for amps etc for these. What Are guys running for these? Id like to do an active crossover with 2 tube amps for the highs and SS amps for the 2245s. What size Mcintosh Tube amps do i need for the highs? I appreciate it! -andrewI'm not sure if there is any sort of consensus out there on the amps, but I'd suggest you read Bo's thread on his active crossover experience with the 4345. Now, why do you want to use McIntosh tube amps up top? If it has to be Mac, I guess I'd go with an MC275 and the SS amp(s) of your choice below... a solid 200wpc or better should do the trick.

Widget

1951 ford
10-20-2012, 06:29 PM
I was told that 2- mc275 amps in mono would be enough just so flippin expensive, I don't know macs just have this aura. Do you have a link to Bo's thread I can't find it. Thanks -AndrewAndrew

invstbiker
10-20-2012, 08:20 PM
I use a Canary 300B-LUVELY

Mr. Widget
10-20-2012, 10:16 PM