PDA

View Full Version : Can replacement capacitors be "too fine" for vintage JBL-drivers?

M1k@el
09-02-2012, 06:42 AM
Now that I've started to tear my beloved JBL:s apart in order to improve their sound I've started to wonder whether there is any risk with swapping in high-grade replacement caps in place if the old ones, for example Jantzen Silvers, Superiors or Audyn Caps.

My concern is that such fine capacitors simply let "too much" information pass into the drivers and that this can have a negative effect on the sound. :confused:

I have had some experiences with this thing happening:

Just recently, I replaced a pair of old caps in a crossover to my 077 with very fine Audyn caps. The sound surely opened up with added detail but it came at a cost of extremely annoying and over-emphasized S-noises.

Some years ago I restored a pair of Intinity Column II:s by swapping out the capacitors, the exact same thing happened with those speakers!

Furthermore, I came across a posting here at Lansing Heritage where one member wrote (as an answer to a question on how to improve the sound in old JBL:s): "Replace the old capacitors with fine new ones .. not too fine though".

Can someone confirm whether this is indeed something that has to be taken into consideration when picking new caps?

Or can I just blame the problems I had on bad luck?

I kind of hesitate to buy new caps for my crossovers since I'm afraid that I'll encounter the same problems once again. And since my JBL:s are keepers (at least for an indefinite period of time) I don't want to screw these up!

Best - Mike

LRBacon
09-02-2012, 09:26 AM
Mike, several years ago I replaced the original capacitors in a pair of L110s with Jantzen Z-Standard caps. I've had absolutely no audio problems with them since I did the replacement.

Larry

Ruediger
09-02-2012, 09:34 AM
... is one which only has a capacitance and does not have any resistance or inductance.