PDA

View Full Version : Best studio monitor for under $400

thredayevt
09-20-2004, 08:08 PM
Hello,

I'm trying to start a 'hi-fi' speaker system. I've been researching vintage studio monitors because they seem to be the best bang for the buck (I'm a poor college student ;) )

In your opinion, what is the best speaker for under $400-500. I've read about the JBL L100's, 4310, 4311, 4312. These all seem to be readily available on ebay, craigslist, etc. Is any one of these models significantly better than the other??

Are there any other models I should consider? Also, what about other brands/models of that era?

One last question: what should I worry about when buying these speakers used? It seems like the foam on most JBL's tends to degrade over time. Obviously, I'll make sure there's no rubbing or distortion before I buy.

Thanks for the help. This is a great message board!

--Jeff

JBL Dog
09-20-2004, 11:18 PM
It was never classified as a monitor, But the JBL L100t is a fantastic speaker that can be picked up for $200 - $400 depending on condition. It is loaded with 2214H, 104H-2 (?) and 035ti. I used them from 1988 - 2002 before bucking up for a set of 4343's.

Good Luck!

This message comes from JBL Dog :band:

Zilch
09-21-2004, 12:11 AM
No foam in those "control monitors" you've mentioned, actually. They're all basically from the same "genre."

Don't be afraid of foam surround JBL woofers. It's cheap and easy to replace the surrounds.

For $400 - $500, I'd be lookin' for a pair of 4412's or even 4425's (if yer lucky!)

These ARE actual studio monitors....

JBL Dog
09-21-2004, 12:48 AM