PDA

View Full Version : Altec A7 Woofers



sbjacob
02-22-2012, 08:12 AM
I just picked up a pair of A7's I have always wanted a pair however they don't have woofers I have noticed the 416 woofers are very expensive is there a good less costly replacement? Thanks

louped garouv
02-22-2012, 08:59 AM
maybe some other 'pro style' offering could be a good fit for your uses?
look into BMS, Emminence, B&C, Faital Pro...
there are others also, the list goes on for quite awhile...

http://bmsspeakers.com/index.php?id=cone_drivers
http://www.eminence.com/
http://www.bcspeakers.com/product.php?c=0000000001
http://www.faitalpro.com/

i've heard of folks inserting JBL or TAD woofers into the boxes also...

consider the A7s a "tweekers dream" ;)

to narrow your search down, you could take a look at the T/S parameters of an Altec 416 or 515 woofer,
and find something that is comprable/similar.....

side note, sometimes a bit of patience pays off also,
so keep looking even after you find something to use "in the meantime"
and you may find a pair of very nice 15"s to go in your boxes, for cheap....

sbjacob
02-22-2012, 10:53 AM
Thanks I did contact GPA to see what new 416's are going for their prices are very fair and I have noticed finding a replacement woofer because the 416 has such a high VAS isn't easy but how close is good enough I'm not sure on this? I'm interested to see how these sound compared to my Klipsch MCM's clones and my Klipsch La scala's54836

louped garouv
02-22-2012, 11:02 AM
Sorry i forgot to mention GPA -- they are a class act too...
and basically later iterations of what was originally loaded into the cabinets...


DO you have access to any place that would let you test woofers?
or any friends with spares to evaluate?

i suggest going the empirical approach to judging what you prefer, if at all possible...

:)

remember to have some fun along the way...


I will say that some woofers, due to larger Xmax travel lengths, will require an additional gasket to be installed

on the front side of the woofer to keep the cone from slappping the baffle board...

sbjacob
02-22-2012, 11:51 AM
I have a pair of the Klipsch K-43 woofers fs 33 vas 214 litr Xmax 7mM Qms 5.5 Qes .33 Qts .313 bl 15. SPL 96 however it's a 4ohm woofer
I also have a pair of Eminence Kappa C woofers fs 31 vas is a bit higher at 325 Xmax 3 and Qms is 10.14 Qes .25 Qts .25 also a 4 ohm woofer I'll give these a try. Thanks

louped garouv
02-22-2012, 12:11 PM
I have a pair of the Klipsch K-43 woofers fs 33 vas 214 litr Xmax 7mM Qms 5.5 Qes .33 Qts .313 bl 15. SPL 96 however it's a 4ohm woofer
I also have a pair of Eminence Kappa C woofers fs 31 vas is a bit higher at 325 Xmax 3 and Qms is 10.14 Qes .25 Qts .25 also a 4 ohm woofer I'll give these a try. Thanks


do you have an active/electronic crossover? or are you using the stock passives?

reason i mention is the passives will not work at the designated frequency, is my understanding --
if the passives expect to "see" an 8 Ohm Driver, and they actually are hooked up to a 4 Ohmer

I am positive you know this already, just pointing it out for the benefit of other readers doing future reference


If using the passives, is it possible to slug the woofer with some additional resistance to
make it appear as a 8 or 16 Ohm woofer? of course -- depending on what the passive you have in hand wants to "see" -- or is that sort of trickery relegated to 'padding' tweeters down in sensitivity only?

sbjacob
02-22-2012, 12:29 PM
I have a active crossover I'm using on my Klipsch MCM system Ashly XR2001 I have a few other 2 way actives another Ashly XR1001 and a Behringer not sure of the model # but will use the Ashly XR100154837