PDA

View Full Version : Black=positive

wrager
01-26-2012, 12:53 PM
http://www.pispeakers.com/JBL_Polarity.pdf

So is it true that with these transducers, black is positive? I guess I'm new to the party...

Lee in Montreal
01-26-2012, 01:07 PM
http://www.pispeakers.com/JBL_Polarity.pdf

So is it true that with these transducers, black is positive? I guess I'm new to the party...

Party is over since the mid 1980s if I am not mistaken. Then JBL joined the bandwagon. A 1.5v battery is your best friend to determine the polarity of your speakers.

louped garouv
01-26-2012, 01:28 PM
how does one determine the polarity for a compression driver?

impulse testing?

boputnam
01-26-2012, 03:59 PM
JBL Technical Notes Volume 1, Number 12C - Polarity Conventions of JBL Professional Transducers (http://www.jblpro.com/catalog/support/getfile.aspx?docid=241&doctype=3)

pos
01-28-2012, 04:45 AM
how does one determine the polarity for a compression driver?

impulse testing?

Yes, holmimpusle for example will show you the thing immediately
I was surprised when I installed some truextent diaphragm to see that they also follow the "old" reversed logic, whereas their doc tell the opposite!
http://materion.com/~/media/Files/PDFs/Electrofusion/EQF3023_PrecisionDiaphragm.pdf
The "+" on their diaphragm is in fact a "-", so the doc should read "positive voltage on - terminal moves diaphragms towards phase plug"...
This is good for compatibility with older diaphragms that these are supposed to replace, but I wish their doc at least tell the truth, as I had to reinstall my diaphragms...

Mr. Widget
01-28-2012, 11:29 AM
This is good for compatibility with older diaphragms that these are supposed to replace, but I wish their doc at least tell the truth, as I had to reinstall my diaphragms...I only see this about polarity:

Polarity ........................................... Positive voltage at + terminal moves