PDA

View Full Version : Need help with B-460 cabinet scratches/gouges

wsilva
11-18-2011, 10:19 PM
OK, Today I lucked into a sweet deal for a B-460 for 75$ !

Called the Craigslist ad and the seller said he had a offer for 75$ and the person would get it tomorrow, but if I came today I could have it for the same price:D.

The Cabinet is really not that bad, EXCEPT the left side which is deeply scratched with some deep (1/8"+) gouges.

What would be involved in re-veneering the damaged side, do I have to remove the old veneer, or can I apply new over old ??

I have never done veneer work before so it is all new to me.

Photo shows bad side.

Thanks for any help.5370953710

hjames
11-19-2011, 06:00 AM
Can't help you with the veneer question,

but wow ... just wow!

Kudos to you sir ... unobtainium at a superb price!

brutal
11-19-2011, 10:41 AM
Hooray for you!

Boo to the seller.

Hate to be that tomorrow guy.

BTW, did someone beat it with a chain or what???

You'll need to strip the veneer and redo it. The other option is to lightly sand, apply generous amounts of Howard's Restore-A-Finish and elbow grease with a 000 steel wool pad and see how it looks. If you live coastal, best to use scrotchbrite pads.

wsilva
11-19-2011, 12:10 PM
The seller said he got it out of a storage unit, it was stored on end and looks to have been slid around a lot for the damage that was done.

It does suck that someone would treat the speaker that way, but then I tell myself I would not have got it for 75 buckaroo's if it had been undamaged.

The seller actually was going to junk the cabinet the next day if the other person didnt show, he didnt think anyone would want it:blink:

I am going to start cleaning up the cabinet today, the grill cloth needs to be glued down in a couple of spots, and I have to order a refoam kit for the 2245H as the surround is shot.

The 2245H has the white cone on the backside which if I remember from other board posts is a early driver?...

5371753718 ...