PDA

View Full Version : Uneven Loudness from DBX 223XL



ngccglp
08-28-2011, 08:41 PM
Hi,

I am experiencing uneven loudness for the L and R (high and low) output when the controls positions for both Land R channels are matched. Could this be due to I am using RCA to XLR cables from pre amp to 223XL? I have checked the cables and it is wired correctly i.e. pin 2 is hot, and pin 1 and 3 are connected. Also the 223XL was bought new.

Anybody knows what the problem is?

Thanks.

1audiohack
08-28-2011, 11:14 PM
How far off are they? If it's a matter of less than a clock position I have DBX and Rane analog gear off that far on output levels and Xover slopes. Sometimes the knobs are just miss-positioned.

Sounds like the preamp to DBX cables are correct, how are the DBX output to amp cables configured?

If it's more than that and you have done all the cable / chanel swapping thus eliminating outside possibilities it may need servicing.

Do you have any measurement gear?

ngccglp
08-29-2011, 01:29 AM
The cables from XO to amp are XLR to XLR. The difference on the bass is more pronounced than the highs. The Highs are off about one clock marking (i.e. 2 and 3 oclock) and bass about two clock markings.

Any idea how I can check? Thanks

grumpy
08-29-2011, 11:26 AM
Short answer: put a tone through and measure the output voltage.

What tools do you have to perform audio stimulus/response measurements?
(some folks still have tone generators and oscilloscopes :) but I realize that's
not too common anymore) a cd or computer generated tone (well in-band) and
an AC voltmeter with a wide enough frequency response (could use a 60Hz tone
to be sure) should be fine.

Lee in Montreal
09-01-2011, 05:59 AM
When I have similar unbalance problem, my first step for chcking is to put the pre-amp in mono. Then swap the left to right connectors to see if the problem follows the connector.
Some crossovers have a "+12bd/+24db max level switch" at the back. Maybe your crossover has one per channel and they are not set the same for each channel. Such switches can be in the input and output.

Also, you may have the "sum" switch activated by mistake.

Lee in Montreal
09-09-2011, 05:59 AM
Is the problem solved now?

ngccglp
10-01-2011, 05:52 AM
Hi,

The problem is resolved now... thks