PDA

View Full Version : jsut picked up a set of c54 with LE8's in them

Docwolf
08-20-2011, 01:56 PM
The cabinets are in fair shape but the driver needs help. this is my first dealing in vintage JBL, I have been building my main home system with vintage Pioneer and modern Yamaha components. these JBLs where at the local thrift store and i figured for 5 bucks for the set, they where worth a shot. the surrounds on the drivers and radiators are toast, one drive is free but rough while the other was stuck. the spider on the blown driver is ripped also and the cones feels very brittle. i was amazed at the size of the magnet and the cast aluminum frame, theses things look awesome. I have no experience with re-coning or re-foaming. are they worth while to fix up? wheres a good place to get the work done? i see these have a rather tight clearance on teh voice coil so i would rather have a pro do the work. I can re-foam the radiators, that seems simple enough and the kits are cheap, though it would be nice to have the stock color. thanks for your help and sorry for being a noob LOL. :D

Docwolf
08-27-2011, 07:10 PM
HEY, thanks for all the great help and info guys, wow what a terrific community you have here...that was sarcasm if you where un sure. guess i will pitch them.

1audiohack
08-27-2011, 08:56 PM
Hi there;

Sorry you didn't get what you came for. This is a relatively small community and while there are some technically oriented folks here many are not very active.

Currently (this minute) there are 80 people on this entire site as compared to 873 on AK so the number of responses will likely be small as well.

I read your original post but I don't know much about your speakers and had nothing of value to offer. I myself would not toss the LE8's, I would repair them and find a use for them. If you want to quadruple your money pull out the drivers and sell them to me. :)

Don't go away mad, this is a neat site if you are a JBl fan.

All the best,
Barry.

BMWCCA