PDA

View Full Version : What could be wrong with my LE85 + H91 horn?

FoolForARadio
07-05-2011, 10:54 AM
At first it was deteriorating foam and shot diaphragms, but I cleaned up the foam and put in 16 Ohm Radian diaphragms, correctly I think, but maybe not? They sound great with some music, but there is a distortion in the horn during some high loud passages, particularly noticeable in solo piano and soprano voices.

I disconnected the woofer and it's definitely a horn thing. I also removed the lens, so it's not a loose or broken lens.

I'm going to clean the magnet gap out again in case I missed something the first time and try again. But what else might the problem be? Any ideas? Someone suggested the problem might be in the crossover...? Or maybe I didn't install the diaphragm properly, although it seemed to go in pretty well.

Well, thanks for your help...

hjames
07-05-2011, 11:48 AM
The most likely problem is crud in the gap - I'm not a pro but getting it really clean seems to be an issue often mentioned here.

Another factor - its not the factory diaphragm, its an aftermarket replacement, so the specs may not be the same and there may be some issues in response due to that.
DO you know if you had aluminum or titanium diaphragms before?
Do you know what the replacement diaphragms are?

At first it was deteriorating foam and shot diaphragms, but I cleaned up the foam and put in 16 Ohm Radian diaphragms, correctly I think, but maybe not? They sound great with some music, but there is a distortion in the horn during some high loud passages, particularly noticeable in solo piano and soprano voices.

I disconnected the woofer and it's definitely a horn thing. I also removed the lens, so it's not a loose or broken lens.