PDA

View Full Version : Jbl asb 6128

RJ64
04-26-2011, 03:08 AM
Hello, Looking for some info/feedback regarding the JBL ASB6128. A little background -

I wanted something to cover about 40-200Hz for various forms of electronic music. I looked at lots of options, everything from custom built cabinets with 18 sound/B&C 21/18" drivers (forgot the exact model numbers) to EAW,Turbosound etc to DIY stuff like BFM designs. The point was the sound/feel I am after, not where it came from or with what sticker. I poured over the T/S specs of a lot of drivers and narrowed it down to 2 drivers. One of them was the JBL 2242H. Low Le,good (BL*BL/Re) to Mms ratio, relatively low Qes. I should point out I am not an expert (which is the reason I am posting) but it sounds like a good driver for my needs and the frequency response charts look fine. I also searched google and found a few posts regarding the 2242H on various web sites. All in all the 2242H looks very promising and I am more or less ready to jump in.

Now the reason I post is because I was wondering if anyone has experience with these and could tell me how they *sound* in my intended range (40-200, maybe 300Hz) given that it is for electronic music (some movies as well). I know they will kick my chest and will have plenty of output. People have already said that the 4645C sounds great, I assume this is the same but before I plonk down a good bit of cash it doesn't hurt to get some confirmation. Thank you!

Don Mascali
04-26-2011, 05:44 AM
I have two of the 4645C cabinets in my HT/Music system. They are practically indestructible in the non-commercial environment. I also have two 2245H in 11 sq ft cabinets. They are slightly better but can't handle the abuse...

The 4645C can make their presence known with enough power. I use a Yamaha Pro Sound P7000 @ 700 watts per channel @ 8 ohms. They have no fan until the heat sinks heat up pretty well, making them suitably quiet for HT. I've never heard the fans kick on.