PDA

View Full Version : Cabinet reccomendations

Joespride
03-26-2011, 02:44 AM
I'm new to building speakers and alot of what I read seems Greek to me. I have 20 years experience with woodworking. I'd like to get a reccomended volume size in lay terms (ie... I need X amount of internal volume in cubic feet or inches ) for 2 different boxes I want to build. The first box will be for midbass and will house 2 altec 421-8lf drivers, the second box will be for low end bass I'd like it to go down into the mid 20 hz range and the driver will be the 18" eminence bass driver or jbl equilivant (depends on what I can find ) I don't have all the specs of the drivers (this is the Greek part for me) I would appreciate any help. I also don't have access to a computer most of the time I rely on my iPhone so web site reccomendations are welcome but not always practicle. Thanks in advance. Joe

Lee in Montreal
03-26-2011, 05:44 AM
Hi Joe

Make the bass cabinet as big as you can. 7 cubic feet up to...
Include a port to increase the low reach. Port can be round or square. Port volume is substracted from enclosure volume. So is driver's volume.

http://www.psp-inc.com/tools.html

Plan here for a 25Hz sub.
http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?24178-2245-Subwoofer-Box-12-Cubic-Ft&p=242923

Port area is related to cone surface and excursion. That's why JBL's B460 had three 4" ports. You can use one 6" cardboard duct. Personally, I like using ABS tubing and finish off the surface with a router. You can also make a square port.

A simple construction if you want a very low but narrow frequency band is to build a tapped horn (or "air coupler" according to JBL's terminology). A simple tube or box, that can be folded in two. You can easily reach 20Hz if your driver can do it (the 2245h can).