PDA

View Full Version : Testing Altec 604-C and 1600-A crossover with no test gear

Squarewave
01-09-2011, 02:27 PM
Hi,

I'm trying to figure out if this driver is working properly, but I have no experience with this model, and so, nothing to compare it to. All I have is a meter, my ears and eyes.

HF=7.7 LF=8.1 ohms. Date stamp is Sept.of 56. Physically this looks like new, except for a 3/16" hole punched in the treated paper surround, no doubt from a failed mounting attempt.

I have run it with both a 100 watt amp, and a 20 watt amp. I was very careful with the 100 watt, because I know it is likely more power than this speaker is rated for

It seems to sound really great when run flat at low and medium volumes, but "bottoms out" or rubs at high volumes, and sometimes med high volumes with low end kicked up, (for a split second) on peak bass notes. Again, I really don't know how much to expect from this driver,and thinking it's not fair to compare it with Pro PA drivers that I do know better.

Any info or opinions from more experienced people would be great!

Cheers.
Dan

Progneta
01-10-2011, 09:55 PM
Oh yes, I know exactly what you are talking about. I have had a dozen 604c's. A very common problem which I discovered with a few of them is that the tube that the woofer voicecoil was rolled on, was actually a hair to long for the cylinder upon which it moved up and down in. You could actually see where the voice coil former had been banging the bottom of the speaker (it had a small dent)

I find this problem only to exist in 604C original cones/kit. After they are reconed with a GPA kit, the problem goes away.

Its funny, but it annoyed the heck out of me. If you have a program such as "Room Wizard EQ", free download from hometheatershack.com, at medium volume run 30-50 hz tone through the speaker and you will hear the former literally bottom out, almost like a knock.