PDA

View Full Version : Altec Utility Cabinets (612 & 614)



deltalab
06-11-2003, 10:44 AM
Dear Altec Fans & Friends

i'm searching for a pair of original painted (silver/metal) 'Altec utility Cabinets' either '612' or '614' ... Can anyone help me finding those?

Does anyone have pictures of them other than the ones on this website?

what speaker units in the 612 did they use at abbey road? does anyone know that? And what power amps was used to drive the speakers?

best regards
thomas troelsen

http://www.deltalab.dk

Steve Schell
06-12-2003, 12:47 AM
Hi Thomas,

The Altec 612 cabinet began life as the bass reflex (resonator, as Jim Lansing called it) cabinet of the Lansing Iconic. I am fortunate to own several of these. When the Altec Lansing Duplex driver debuted, it was most often fitted to this box. If you have pictures of Abbey Road studios showing these enclosures, they almost certainly housed whatever version of the 604 was being produced at the time of their manufacture. The 604 in the 612 cabinet was so commonly used in recording studios for several decades that it was considered a true standard.

I have made careful blueprint drawings of the Lansing Iconic 612 enclosure; please email me if you would like a scan of the drawings. Later Altec 612s (of the same appearance) deviate only slightly from the dimensions of the original.

Mr. Widget
06-12-2003, 01:45 AM
Hi Thomas,

I am sorry to say that I do not have a line on a pair of 612s, but I wanted to compliment you on your super cool looking studio!

Good luck with your quest!

Widget

deltalab
06-12-2003, 05:40 AM
Thank you both for yoru reply. Will you sell a pair of your altec 612??? pleeeeaassse.

thanks for the compliments about delta lab

cheers
thomas

Guy L
06-12-2003, 09:51 AM
Hi Thomas,

:) Your studio is beautiful.
I own a pair of Altec "Big Red", studio monitors, and can take the measurements of the cabinets for you, if you like.

Regards,

Guy

boputnam
06-12-2003, 10:01 AM
No doubt!!

But, where's all the dang cables!! :mad:

I have more in my family room! Jeeze... The Cable Police must have an evergreen contract for that studio! Youzer...

But, I'm curious who makes use of them Hohners on the "equipment" list? Not like a harp player to use some old axe laying in a studio... Eeeewwww ;)

Sorry I can't help on the 612's, either.

Erik Stieg
12-16-2008, 01:20 AM
Hi Thomas,

The Altec 612 cabinet began life as the bass reflex (resonator, as Jim Lansing called it) cabinet of the Lansing Iconic. I am fortunate to own several of these. When the Altec Lansing Duplex driver debuted, it was most often fitted to this box. If you have pictures of Abbey Road studios showing these enclosures, they almost certainly housed whatever version of the 604 was being produced at the time of their manufacture. The 604 in the 612 cabinet was so commonly used in recording studios for several decades that it was considered a true standard.

I have made careful blueprint drawings of the Lansing Iconic 612 enclosure; please email me if you would like a scan of the drawings. Later Altec 612s (of the same appearance) deviate only slightly from the dimensions of the original.

Hi I would love to build this cabinet. I once owned a pair back in the day. I have just stumbled on to some 604-Es that nead a home.
Thanks Erik

gsb001
12-16-2008, 11:59 PM
How about sharing some pictures - tks
Steve

Steve Mac
12-17-2008, 12:42 PM
Hi Thomas,
The 604 in the 612 cabinet was so commonly used in recording studios for several decades that it was considered a true standard.

FYI...
EMI qualified the Altec 605 and never used the 604 in the 612 cabinet.
The story is told in the "Recording the Beatles" book which I own and here is a pic of the beginning of Chapter 7:
http://www.superbadcat.com/images/beatles605_1.jpg

BigBusa
06-24-2009, 12:59 PM
Item number:230351312212

there's a pair on ebay right now :applaud:

rlaugel
05-18-2010, 03:19 PM
I just had a pair made using Altec's plans and will be putting in Great Plains 604's. I will be flying them in the new house in Montana powered with the Fountek Altitude tube amp. Sittin' on Barnwood bar stools in the Great Room enjoying AC/DC...:D

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_gaFru0fLV0U/S-73gwBoOZI/AAAAAAAAEpw/rwxJQAwSIns/s640/P5150092.JPG

CONVERGENCE
05-18-2010, 06:42 PM
I just had a pair made using Altec's plans and will be putting in Great Plains 604's. I will be flying them in the new house in Montana powered with the Fountek Altitude tube amp. Sittin' on Barnwood bar stools in the Great Room enjoying AC/DC...:D

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_gaFru0fLV0U/S-73gwBoOZI/AAAAAAAAEpw/rwxJQAwSIns/s640/P5150092.JPG


The Beatles had a 605 in their 612. I would recommend the neew GPA 604 8H III.

Go to Great Plains Audio Web Site. http://www.greatplainsaudio.com/

http://www.hostboard.com/forums/altec-users-board/125264-picture-john-lennon-604-605-a-2.html#post1775599


hOPE THIS HELPS

rlaugel
05-19-2010, 12:58 PM
I already have new GPA 604 8H III's sitting in storage waiting to be mounted. I'll post another pic when installed.
Randy

rgwalker
05-19-2010, 07:08 PM
I just had a pair made using Altec's plans and will be putting in Great Plains 604's. I will be flying them in the new house in Montana powered with the Fountek Altitude tube amp. Sittin' on Barnwood bar stools in the Great Room enjoying AC/DC...:D

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_gaFru0fLV0U/S-73gwBoOZI/AAAAAAAAEpw/rwxJQAwSIns/s640/P5150092.JPG

Nice cabinets. Who did them for you and how much were they if you don't mind?

Bob W

rlaugel
05-20-2010, 01:31 PM
http://www.woodcraftdisplays.com/

A cabinet shop in Hamilton, Montana. Dusty charged me $340 each - finished. Bracing is beautiful and sturdy.
Randy

Tranquil
06-14-2010, 06:36 PM
Congratulations! Those cabs look great. :applaud:

makarushka
08-26-2010, 06:12 PM
http://www.woodcraftdisplays.com/

A cabinet shop in Hamilton, Montana. Dusty charged me $340 each - finished. Bracing is beautiful and sturdy.
Randy

These are fabulous! Any chance at all that you'd be willing to share the plans? I sent you a PM also a while back... Would be very grateful for more information.

rlaugel
11-01-2010, 01:13 PM
These are fabulous! Any chance at all that you'd be willing to share the plans? I sent you a PM also a while back... Would be very grateful for more information.


Dmitry..

Sorry it took so lling for reply. Don't always check this site. I do not know of any one in the Bay Area although I'm sure if you look under cabinet makers you'd be able to find one. The place that built mine in Montana went out-of-business shortly after I had those cabs built. It, of course, was much cheaper for cabinet work in Montana than it will be in California...and no sales tax. I lucked out. I'm in the process of having the GPA's installed now and will update when finished. The plans were found on the ALTEC audio page.

rlaugel
11-02-2010, 09:38 AM
http://www.altecpro.com/products/vintage/index.htm (http://www.altecpro.com/products/vintage/index.htm)


link for the plans

rlaugel
12-02-2010, 10:49 AM
some pics of construction...

rlaugel
12-02-2010, 10:57 AM
They sound great. Run with Fountek Altitude EL 34 tube Amp. Seems to be a perfect match.

Altec Best
12-03-2010, 12:40 AM
Hey Randy, They look really nice.I have an original pair of 612C cabs and was told that when mounting a full range driver 604,605,etc... That the driver hole should be beveled on the outside edge.Take a look


Regards !! AB


http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/Altec_Best/Altec%20612C%20with%20604-8Gs/HPIM2250.jpg


http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/Altec_Best/Altec%20612C%20with%20604-8Gs/HPIM2252.jpg


http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/Altec_Best/Altec%20612C%20with%20604-8Gs/HPIM2256.jpg


http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/Altec_Best/Altec%20612C%20with%20604-8Gs/HPIM2235.jpg


http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/Altec_Best/Altec%20612C%20with%20604-8Gs/HPIM2237.jpg

rlaugel
12-05-2010, 11:39 AM
I can understand the logic in a bevel for a rear mount (a slight horn load). But, why would it matter in a front mount. The cabinet maker actually did a slight bevel for both the port and the speaker cut-out and it would have looked really nice if I had rear mounted the 604's but I really wanted the extra cubic inches that the front mount provided in the 612 cab. Plus, it was a much easier job as handling a heavy speaker like the 604 could easily turned into a 2 or 3 person job. Even the front loading the two speakers proved to be a bigger job than expected keeping the t-nuts from turning while torquing the hex screws (all while keeping the wrench from going through the surround). Thanks, though. I couldn't be happier with the look and sound so I stand by the thinking, "by trying to improve things you can only make matters worse."
Randy
:D

Altec Best
12-07-2010, 03:02 AM
This is how it was explained to me over at Altec User Board (hostboard) from GM, (Eigenmodes)

Originally Posted by Altec Best http://www.hostboard.com/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.hostboard.com/forums/altec-users-board/196121-cabinets.html#post1847490)
GM just said full range drivers,I don't know the reasoning behind it though.


Eigenmodes (standing waves) develop between parallel surfaces and since the baffle cutout is circular it can create an infinite number in theory if excited, summing to a strong enough pulse that will modulate any output from a rear mounted driver that falls within this BW, so beveling it dramatically reduces its fundamental amplitude, ergo rolls off its harmonics faster.

If the driver is front mounted and the baffle thickness represents a tunnel WRT the driver frame construction such as occurs with many smaller 'full-range' drivers, then the mounting hole rear lip needs considerable flaring to ensure there's no reflections that can bounce off the rear of the driver, modulating it and/or create an acoustic choke.

Eigenmodes are half WL in nature, so have both even and odd harmonics. For example, a 13.25" dia cutout's fundamental will be around 13560"/sec/2/13.5" = ~502 Hz depending on the local ambient, so in theory even rear mount woofers need the front of the cutout beveled if XO'd above ~300-500 Hz depending on the slope order. I've never measured nor read of anyone measuring any strong enough to show up on a plot though or been able to perceive them Vs a free air comparison; so until someone can, I see no reason to do it for 15" woofers except for cosmetic reasons.

GM
__________________
Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.

hatrack71
12-08-2010, 10:13 AM
They sound great. Run with Fountek Altitude EL 34 tube Amp. Seems to be a perfect match.

I would love to hear those someday. I am up in Helena- not too far from you.

rlaugel
12-09-2010, 11:30 AM
you'd be more that welcome to come and have listen. I'm currently in the process of trying to retire - dividing my time between the Bay Area and the Bitterroot valley - on the foothill of Ward Mountain - between Hamilton and Darby. This summer, the cd's will be unpacked and at the ready. The pic included is the Great Room. The bedroom had Dared Mono-blocks with Tang Band kit front loaded system. The basement is equiped with a Vincent hybrid amp and pre for about 150 rms into a pair Klipsch Heresy - it is the entertainment center for tv and my son's gaming. Here in the Bay Area I run JBL 4311's (another studio staple) powered with more tubes. As a musician, I can't seem to get tube and well crafted transducers out of my blood. Come summer send me a phone # and I'll return info and you can check it out.