PDA

View Full Version : 2425 diaphragm installation... and sub1500s

demanddeepbass
08-18-2004, 02:43 PM
Hello everybody, I'm new here. Liking the forum a lot particularly all the sub1500 stuff. I'm an electronics with music tech student and my final year project is going to be one of these drivers in a motional feedback system - building the boxes at the moment. Will post back some updates if anyones interested.

Anyway, onto the actual question. I've recently brought some new genuine JBL diaphragms for my 2425s. They currently have clones in and i've been noticing some irritating distortions arround 1.6-2K particularly obvious with stuff like coral music. Eventually tracked the problem down to VC rubbing. Tried fiddling with them and moving things about for ages; it got better but never really went away which is why i got the JBLs. I've replaced a fair few comp driver diaphragms in my time but these JBLs and the problems iv'e been having made me think a little more about my technique. They come with a note in the box saying:

"this part is not self-centering, this product should only be installed by an authorised factory trained technician. centering of the voice coil within the gap requires specific test equipment and training and is critical to the performance of this product"

Is this mostly BS to make you go spend the money on getting a dealer to do it? Do they actually have specific test equipment or do they just do a frequency sweep or somthing? Is there any perceived wisdom for installing these things or do i just shove it in like i always have before? It seems to work ok with ladies..... :-)

cheers in advance

Olly

Guido
08-18-2004, 03:47 PM
Centering the Dia is easiest while playing a signal of sine with f around 500HZ.
Distortion is easy to hear.
You CAN center a dia with extensive measuring equipment but most of the dealers do it the easy way by ear.

Mr. Widget
08-19-2004, 10:01 AM
Welcome aboard demanding one.