PDA

View Full Version : L100 vs. L100a

scott_ae
08-17-2004, 09:02 AM
Hello,

I'm new to the board - great to see all of the expertise out here on the network.

I have a pair of JBL L100a speakers that I purchased in 1973 when Uncle Sam saw fit to send me to southeast asia. (Not much fun, but at least I got some stereo equipment out of the deal.)

I have been using my JBL's full time for 31 years now and they are in perfect shape other than the famous foam grille problem. Recently I have been watching ebay and thinking about picking up another pair.

The one thing I noticed is that every pair I see is a L100 - while mine are L100a. My original documentation says L100a. My faceplates on the speaker say L100a. The original PX price list for all of the JBL products says L100a. I can see absolutely no differnece between my L100a and the L100.

Does anybody here know what the difference is? Was it just a marking issue because they were sold thru Uncle Sam's PX? I've searched this forum and the lansing heritage site and come up with no hits for "L100a".

Hope somebody here knows the answer - I'll sleep better at night.

Thanks in advance,

scott_ae

4313B
08-17-2004, 09:27 AM
Hello and welcome,

Now we know for sure new members cannot see old posts using the search feature.

Here's what I get with a search on L100A posted by me:

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2587&highlight=l100a

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=1912&highlight=l100a

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=1168&highlight=l100a

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=851&highlight=l100a

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=482&highlight=l100a

scott_ae
08-17-2004, 10:12 AM
Thanks for the quick answer's guys. This place is great.

Now about the search "problem". It looks like the search doesn't go back too far into the archives until you become a member.

Here's how it went.