PDA

View Full Version : Lancer 99s need work.. but what shall I give them? (newbie, Pics)

sswx2187
07-21-2010, 07:00 PM
Despite what the audio purists will say, I just want unique and well performing speakers. These were my fathers and then my brother took them.. his girlfriend played them too loud and the foam is completely gone from the woofers. Since I do not have them before me at the moment I cannot say if they would even work if refoamed.. but I'm guessing they need all new hardware.

I've read over forums about these speakers. The woofer in them is 14 inches and is the le14a. The tweeter is the le20-1. The crossover is the LX4-1. Apparently, JBL has the woofer set to go all the way to 2000 hz (and requires serious juice, which I've got).

Now, I've never done work on a speaker before.. but I have read all about building subs from a previous project considered. I know about port science and I'm willing to do my research and test results. However, I want to consider.. Refoaming or replacing these woofers and tweeters.

I have seen people say on the web that the LE14h-3 is a far superior woofer and would function fairly well in this cabinet.. However, I am also considering looking for a non JBL 14 inch woofer.. although it will probably be hard to come by.

As for the tweeter, I am looking at replacing these for sure. I want to cut in the cab like a person on this thread (http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?7671-Cab-Sizes-L101-vs.-L99/page2) has done and install a horn.. or ribbon, or both. Since I have never done work on a speaker before.. reading these pages has my head aching.. (im very tired and I'm just now getting around to serious thought on the speakers).

What problems may I run into refoaming?
How can I test the current woofers before foaming?
What should I consider in a tweeter.
What should I consider in replacing the woofer? (jbl or different, what about crossover issues?)