PDA

View Full Version : N1200 Rotory Switch And JBL Pro Service.



rocks66ss
01-09-2010, 02:07 PM
I posted a question in the general information forum about finding a replacement rotary switch in my N1200 Crossover,according to the schematic's, it appears to be the same switch that's in the 3120. I still haven't found out if a replacement switch is available. I would like to find a correct replacement as opposed to just trying to make something work.

I faxed an inquiry to JBL pro service along with the schematic and accompanied wiring diagram looking for this switch, two days later after no response, I used the email link along with all the pertinent info and still no response.

Is it normal for them to take this long to respond, or do they just ignore request from individuals.


Rocky

4313B
01-09-2010, 02:29 PM
I think they're busy mailing out waveguides.....

speakerdave
01-09-2010, 03:28 PM
:)

Zilch
01-09-2010, 05:06 PM
:p

Beowulf57
01-10-2010, 08:06 AM
Any good quality two pole 3 position switch will work. I used sealed units for less likelihood of contact oxidation/corrosion in my LX5s and never had any problem.

Earl K
01-10-2010, 11:41 AM
Is it normal for them (JBL PRO ) to take this long to respond, or do they just ignore request from individuals.

- I don't know the answer to your question ( having never dealt directly with "PRO" ) / though I'll offer up that sometimes "silence" is an answer ( of sorts ) needing to be interpreted .

- Anyways, here's a 6 position ( non-shorting ) rotary switch from PE . This will hopefully help you jump-start a search for alternatives . ( Btw, this is not meant as an endorsement of the pictured part / rather / I'd recommend you search out an enclosed-back type switch, just like "Beowulf57" has mentioned he used ) .

- ( Click the Pics for some info )

http://www.parts-express.com/images/item_standard/023-664_s.jpg (http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=023-664)

<> :)


ps;
http://www.electro-nc.com/graphics/esheader.jpg (http://www.electro-nc.com/cat_am.shtml)

LE15-Thumper
01-10-2010, 03:43 PM
I found some really nice high quality ones from a guy in Lithuania on Ebay.
His user name is KW Tubes.
I used them in my LX-5's. They have silver contacts and ceramic construction. Very reasonable too !

http://cgi.ebay.com/4P-5T-CERAMIC-ROTARY-SWITCHES-Lot-of-2_W0QQitemZ200426353538QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defau ltDomain_0?hash=item2eaa577382

Earl K
01-10-2010, 03:57 PM
Cool ! Thanks for that info :thmbsup:

It's been some time since I last checked this sellers' wares ( KW-TUBES (http://stores.ebay.com/KW-TUBES) ).

I see "PayPal" has been implemented ( finally ) within the Baltic nations . :D

LE15-Thumper
01-11-2010, 01:51 AM
NO problem Earl... These switches are very nice, I dare offend some forumites...but they are better than the originals.

badman
01-11-2010, 11:01 AM
You're darned right they're nice! Great sounding units. But! one had better have a heck of a mounting surface (read: strong!) and a big knob to torque them, they're military stuff, and very very tight.

Beowulf57
01-11-2010, 03:01 PM
You're darned right they're nice! Great sounding units. But! one had better have a heck of a mounting surface (read: strong!) and a big knob to torque them, they're military stuff, and very very tight.

Drilling a small hole to accept the lug on the mounting bracket will help with seating and fixing the switch so it remains stationary during switching positions. The mounting plate of the JBL crossovers is quite adequate.

badman
01-12-2010, 01:43 PM
Drilling a small hole to accept the lug on the mounting bracket will help with seating and fixing the switch so it remains stationary during switching positions. The mounting plate of the JBL crossovers is quite adequate.

Have you actually used these switches?